We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely amazing day!!!!!!!!”

Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.34*
and up
Economy Durango River Rafting Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1981! Family & High Adventure Rafting, 4x4 Jeep Trail Tours, Mesa Verde National Park Tours, Official Durango Silverton Train Raft & Rail Package, Zip Line, Rock Climbing, Bicycle & SUP Rentals, Value Packages, Group, Military & Senior Discounts.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Reviewed May 9, 2018

Date of experience: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the river"
in 219 reviews
"lower animas"
in 65 reviews
"half day trip"
in 45 reviews
"great guide"
in 35 reviews
"class rapids"
in 20 reviews
"great trip"
in 37 reviews
"these guys"
in 24 reviews
"inflatable kayaks"
in 9 reviews
"great rafting"
in 13 reviews
"white water"
in 15 reviews
"super fun"
in 15 reviews
"rafting adventure"
in 10 reviews
"water level"
in 11 reviews
"first timers"
in 11 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 21 reviews
"the bus"
in 36 reviews
"whole family"
in 13 reviews
Filter

167 - 171 of 834 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2018

Me and my friend did a half day trip of the lower Animus River in Durango. Michael was awesome as a guide. Easy to be around, informative, chill. It was perfect. Alex the driver and the other employees were all friendly, professional and fun. We would definitely use this company again if back in Durango... for some higher class rapids. Thanks, MWR

Date of experience: May 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank davidprince3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Starting the season off right! And check us out for more than rafting. We have tours in Mesa Verde National Park, guided 4x4 tours high in the Rocky Mountains, a Raft & Rail Package with the Durango Train and a fleet of bicycles and paddle boards to rent for the local trails and lakes. Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

They were very accommodating. The guide was fun, experienced and seemed to love his job. And, they took tons of great pics for us to cherish this great family event.

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 2005deedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

River guiding is a labor of love and everyone at Mountain Waters Rafting feels the same about their job and their passion to share it with our guests. We hear over and over from our guests on TripAdvisor how much their raft trip meant for their family and friends that it just makes sense to take a ton of pictures if we can now that the days of expensive film have come and gone. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and took time to write a review, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

First of all, Summer (our guide) was awesome. She was very knowledgeable on the area, engaged us all, and really looked like she was having a good time guiding us. The rest of the staff was very fun and was awesome during our bus ride to and from the adventure. Their office is in a small shack in a grocery store parking lot, but the place was nice and very efficient. We were a bit surprised that we were not provided helmets. I know that we were on a level 4/5 raft, but I would have felt a little bit more safe with a helmet. It was not a show-stopper, but important to know when booking this activity. Even though I broke the first two rules of the raft (stay in the raft), it was a great time with awesome scenery.

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

It sounds as if you experienced some confusion about your trip Mike, and for that I apologize. Summer is a level 2/3 guide who conducts trips on the Lower Animas River through Durango, what we sell as the "Family Friendly" raft trip, appropriate for ages 4 and up, no helmet required, but always available. We take safety very seriously and at high water in the spring time we are currently the only company that does require helmets on this stretch of river as well as complimentary wet suits. High water usually last a week or two and is quite thrilling. The rest of the whitewater season the level 4/5 trips are full day excursions out of town on the Upper Animas and Piedra Rivers of which we are one of only 3 companies authorized to run these stretches. I am glad you had a great time (rule number 3), Summer is a great asset to the Mountain Waters team. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

Overnight excursion with all the wild and wilderness elements of a remote and true adventure, but close to Durango. Class 5 rapids, wonderful safety crew. Beautiful riverside camp with hospitality and activities, all meals and gear provided. Then a train ride on the narrow gauge at the end!The guides were all professional and fun to get to know. I only wish it could have been longer. I think there is an age restriction as well as health restrictions, and a swim test, fyi. If you want to paddle hard, this trip is for you. And mountain waters company has been doing it since the beginning, with the best camp on the river! Would love to go again!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Mountain_girlMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

We are proud of being one of only 3 companies in the state of Colorado permitted to run the world class Upper Animas River which parallels the states largest wilderness area and is accessible by the Durango and Silverton Historic Railroad. Since 1981 this stretch of river has been the ultimate proving ground to test a guides skills at the commercial level and their maturity and professionalism is proofed by Mountain Waters perfect safety record. Our base camp for the two and three day trips is one of those truly magical places in the world and needs to be experienced. A swim test, adventurous spirit, a smile and a swimsuit is your ticket to the ultimate Colorado rafting adventure, thank you so much for sharing your trip experience, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing