We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.34*
and up
Economy Durango River Rafting Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1981! Family & High Adventure Rafting, 4x4 Jeep Trail Tours, Mesa Verde National Park Tours, Official Durango Silverton Train Raft & Rail Package, Zip Line, Rock Climbing, Bicycle & SUP Rentals, Value Packages, Group, Military & Senior Discounts.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed July 16, 2017

Our group included my 12 and 14 year old daughters and my 79 year old mother-in-law. She always wanted to try it and everyone else thought it was crazy to bring her along. Matt Riggins was very polite and helpful to her and kept my girls entertained with his silly jokes. We all had a great time! We felt safe and enjoyed it so much that we were sad that we only did the economy trip.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank amorton100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Yet another reviewer lamenting choosing the shorter raft trip. We hear it everyday, and as you can see it doesn't matter if you are young or old, more river time is always the right choice! Thank you for letting everyone know amorton100, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the river"
in 219 reviews
"lower animas"
in 65 reviews
"half day trip"
in 45 reviews
"great guide"
in 35 reviews
"class rapids"
in 20 reviews
"great trip"
in 37 reviews
"these guys"
in 24 reviews
"inflatable kayaks"
in 9 reviews
"great rafting"
in 13 reviews
"white water"
in 15 reviews
"super fun"
in 15 reviews
"rafting adventure"
in 10 reviews
"water level"
in 11 reviews
"first timers"
in 11 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 21 reviews
"the bus"
in 36 reviews
"whole family"
in 13 reviews
Filter

333 - 337 of 834 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2017

Family of four felt extremely safe and comfortable with our guide Edith. From our first meeting with Edith, we had no anxiety about the river or the tour group. Thank you ever so much for the great time Edith. This was one of the best adventure side trips we took when touring Colorado.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

One of the best raft trips in a state full of great raft trips. Ride the Historic Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad into the high country of the San Juan Mountains and raft the mighty Level 4 Upper Animas River for the day. Edith and the crew are focused on your safety so you can focus on the river and having fun. It's great to hear that your trip with Mountain Waters Rafting was one of the best adventures you had touring Colorado, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

We did the 2 hour tour which is mild on the big rafts but more adventurous on the ducky kayaks even though you all go down together, great way to go with a big group with different levels of desired excitement. Cory, Conner and Matt we're awesome.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank tklsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

It is inflatable kayak, aka, "ducky" season! Pilot your own craft for more excitement and challenge on any of our family friendly trips down the Animas River through Durango. Your group will be on the same trip going down the river together whether you choose to be in a raft or ducky, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

We had a great morning rafting with Beau. He did a great job engaging our grandchildren on their first white water adventure. Definitely recommend Mountain White Rafting. Make sure to ask for Beau

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

I think all the guides at Mountain Waters Rafting are great at engaging the children on their trips because the river itself just naturally brings out the wonder and excitement of the natural world. Everyone feels it, all three generations, its just a great way to spend time with family and friends. Thank you for the review Amy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2017

This was our 37th wedding anniversary and decided to spend part of the day with Mountain Waters Rafting, we went with them earlier when the water was lower and had a great time, this year the water was a lot higher and we had a blast. This is a blast for everyone, little to old. If you have a chance don't miss this ride, the guides are the best in the area, we had Edith and she was great.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Happy anniversary and thank you for spending it with Mountain Waters Rafting! High water in May and June or lower water in July and August are very different but always very fun. For those visiting during low water we recommend the Inflatable Kayak, aka, the "Ducky." With some paddling instruction and a ducky specific safety orientation this craft is appropriate for beginners with a need for more challenge and excitement on the family friendly Animas River in Durango. Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing