We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Mesa Verde Tour With Reverence For Indian Culture”

Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1981! Family & High Adventure Rafting, 4x4 Jeep Trail Tours, Mesa Verde National Park Tours, Official Durango Silverton Train Raft & Rail Package, Zip Line, Rock Climbing, Bicycle & SUP Rentals, Value Packages, Group, Military & Senior Discounts.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed May 24, 2017

Our tour guide, Frank, was absolutely fantastic! He is 50% Ute Indian and grew up with many traditions, including kiva ceremonies as a child and ceremonial traditions as an adult. As a result, he provided us with an inside perspective on Indian culture, their reverence for nature and their perspective on life. We learned about the cliff dwellings and the ancient Pueblan tribes. Frank gave us terrific ideas for the remainder of our trip as well and presented us with a gift of beans at the end. We highly recommend MWR and Frank, in particular to anyone that is visiting the Mesa Verda National Park. He made the day entertaining, fun and educational. It is worth every penny you will spend and so much better than discovering everything on your own.

Thank smnorthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2017

Awesome! As I like to tell potential guests asking about this tour, without a fantastic guide like Frank giving meaning and perspective to Mesa Verde National Park, the place can appear to simply be a collection of cleverly arranged rocks. We feel quite fortunate that Frank has joined our team this year and has found a happy home in Durango from which to do the guiding he so passionately enjoys. I myself can't wait to join one of his tours, his reputation is legendary and his company very engaging and educational. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lower animas"
in 57 reviews
"half day trip"
in 40 reviews
"the river"
in 168 reviews
"great guide"
in 23 reviews
"class iii rapids"
in 6 reviews
"these guys"
in 18 reviews
"great trip"
in 25 reviews
"rafting adventure"
in 8 reviews
"great rafting"
in 7 reviews
"white water"
in 11 reviews
"inflatable kayaks"
in 6 reviews
"super fun"
in 11 reviews
"water level"
in 9 reviews
"wet suits"
in 6 reviews
"top notch"
in 15 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 12 reviews
"the bus"
in 27 reviews
Filter

399 - 403 of 818 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

We went on a 2 hour rafting trip with Bama and Atlas and it was so fun. It was really chilly that day but beautiful.

Thank erinabigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2017

Woof, woof, says Atlas, the rafting Akita! Check out his feature in Outside Magazine's online video website linked via a picture of an Akita in a life jacket sitting in a raft on our home page. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

Perfect trip, created an account just to post this review. Awesome whitewater, very exhilarating, but completely safe. Doug was clearly an expert guide and crew was friendly and professional. Beautiful river and views, it's a must do if visiting Durango area.

Thank dmm609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2017

Thank you for signing up to TripAdvisor to let everyone know how awesome the Piedra River is! We feel very fortunate to be one of only 3 outfitters in the whole wide world permitted to run this "Gem of the Rockies" which has been listed for potential inclusion to the Wild and Scenic designation, the highest protection a river can obtain in the U.S. There are two full day stretches to chose from: the high adventure LBP (Lower Box Piedra) with level 4 rapids, and the family friendly UBP (Upper Box Piedra) with level 3 rapids, all with outstanding scenery and expert guiding. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2017 via mobile

Dom was our guide. She was very informative and very friendly! Our day was chillier than anticipated, but she made our experience well worth the chilly water! She also gave us her opinions on other great activities to do in Durango! She has lived there for some time and was very helpful in narrowing down or last day itinerary for us. Strongly and highly recommend water rafting in Durango! So beautiful.

Thank jordan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2017

The 2017 rafting season has started at Mountain Waters Rafting and the office staff, guides, drivers and owners are thrilled to be taking Durango's visitors down the beautiful Animas River right through Durango! Join us on the river or join Mesa Verde guide extraordinaire Frank Miller for an insightful trip to the worlds first archaeological National Park just a half hour away. We are also the oldest outfitter (since 1981) on the world class Upper Animas Level 4 and 5 thrill seeking whitewater adventure. Thank you so much for the review Jordan, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2017

My wife and I booked the 2 hr trip. It was mid spring and the river was running fast. This was our 1st experience at rafting, it was great. Out guide told us the river changes quite a bit depending on the ime of year, spring being the roughest and summer being more mild. Our trip got pretty rough at 1 part which I'm told were class III rapids Our guide was Andy. He gave us all very clear instruction before leaving and was a pleasure to raft with. I was very impressed that the company sent along a second raft with a very experience guide Teric to go in front of our raft just to be there in case of any problems. All in all an experience we're both glad we did. One last note, rent the wet suit package you can get when you check in. It's so so worth it.

Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Thank you James! First week of the 2017 rafting season, first trips, first review! Safety is no accident and it is our priority here at Mountain Waters Rafting. You are exactly right about the excitement of spring run off and the higher river flows. To maintain a family friendly and beginner appropriate raft trip experience at this time of year we have developed two safety measures for the guides to follow. First, we offer guests the option (mandatory for children at certain river levels) to walk around the whitewater park where the "out of boating" experience is most likely. Secondly, and which makes me happy that you took note of, is the additional raft for safety on a one raft trip (also based on certain river levels). We are also proud to be one of the very few companies in Durango (since 1981) who are permitted by the U. S. Forest Service to run the Class IV & V Piedra and Upper Animas Rivers which really deepens the level of experience many of our guides bring to piloting your raft. Our goal is for each guest to be properly apprised of the nature of the activity they are engaging in with us so that we can all focus on the fun and joy of running rivers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing