We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1/2 Day 4x4”

Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.34*
and up
Economy Durango River Rafting Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1981! Family & High Adventure Rafting, 4x4 Jeep Trail Tours, Mesa Verde National Park Tours, Official Durango Silverton Train Raft & Rail Package, Zip Line, Rock Climbing, Bicycle & SUP Rentals, Value Packages, Group, Military & Senior Discounts.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed June 26, 2016

My sister, 2 nieces, and my 2 daughters had a fabulous time! The ride was exciting and bumpy .... Views were amazing. Our guide Matt- was very knowledgeable and entertaining with his stories about the history of the area.... Definitely a worthwhile trip!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Kara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainWatersRaftin, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2016

Our 4x4 Jeep Trail Tour is a wonderful trip just 15 miles and 12,000 feet up from Durango and sea level. The mountains baby! one of THE best ways to get out and about in the beautiful San Juan wilderness, leave the driving to us and enjoy the views and hear the stories. Peak wildflower season is approaching, you won't believe the colors and quantities. Veteran Tip: go on the am 4x4 tour to avoid the afternoon mountain rain showers we locals call the monsoons! Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the river"
in 219 reviews
"lower animas"
in 65 reviews
"half day trip"
in 45 reviews
"great guide"
in 35 reviews
"class rapids"
in 20 reviews
"great trip"
in 37 reviews
"these guys"
in 24 reviews
"inflatable kayaks"
in 9 reviews
"great rafting"
in 13 reviews
"white water"
in 15 reviews
"super fun"
in 15 reviews
"rafting adventure"
in 10 reviews
"water level"
in 11 reviews
"first timers"
in 11 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 21 reviews
"the bus"
in 36 reviews
"whole family"
in 13 reviews
Filter

518 - 522 of 834 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2016

My 18 year old son and 15 year old daughter joined me one what I hoped would be a fun filled day of rafting adventures. I asked the booking agent for something fairly hairy and challenging that we would remember for a long time. She recommended the Needleton section of the upper Animas, and we were not disappointed. Our full day trip started the previous day with a 1 hour mandatory swim test on the lower Animas rapids that run through town. We learned basic paddling commands and river safety tips from our guide. We also donned the wetsuits and booties (but not the wetsuit jackets we would be using on our actual trip) helmets and life jackets. It was a sobering eye opener when the guide asked half the rafters to 'jump in the river and swim 3 strokes from the raft'. The river was shockingly cold and even though this section of the river was tame compared to what we would be facing the next day, the adrenaline spike from dropping overboard and being hefted back into the boat taught us all quickly to 'respect the river' and our guide. My daughter managed to haul a full sized dad out of the rapids with her flawless technique and my son managed to boat me after some initial struggles, clouded by adrenaline. The next morning we took the Durango/Silverton train about half way to Silverton and offloaded our rafts and gear at a day camp in the National forest by the river. My daughter was suffering from a case of severe jitters and asked if there was a way to skip the trip at this point. The answer was that she could wait next to the train tracks with one of the guides for the returning train and catch it back to town in a few hours. (The moral of the story here is that once you get on the train, you'd better be locked and loaded for this adventure, because there's no turning back!) After we ate lunch she decided that she was going to go for it, and join us on the water. She made me promise that she would survive the trip if she agreed to go! The first section of rapids in the 12 mile Needleton run is the Broken Bridge section which was running Class V during our trip according to our guide Jesse. It was wild and hairy and wet and cold and awesome! Jesse was a Raft Whisperer! His obvious skill at running this river and navigating it safely, quickly gave my daughter confidence that she could enjoy the trip without planning for imminent death around every turn. He barked out commands clearly and with confidence and due to the aforementioned desire that we all had to remain IN the raft and OUT of the river we paddled like fiends when asked to do so, and we all whooped and screamed like happy fools as we plowed through the rushing water. After the first 3 or 4 miles we all settled down and soaked it all in - trying to remember every sweet detail, since there were no cameras around to capture any of the action. The end came too quickly for all of us (including my daughter by this point) and we landed/changed and loaded our gear back on the train for the trip back to Durango. A couple of tips: Pack a trash bag to put all of your wet clothes in on the train ride home. Pack a towel to dry off with when you change back into your clothes at the end. Not a trip for the faint of heart, but at no point did I feel like our guide was out matched by the river. My daughter said she would take another raft trip again - as long as it didn't get any hairier than this one!

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainWatersRaftin, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2016

What a wonderful review and experience and why all of us at Mountain Waters have this passion to share our lifestyle with each of our guests, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

Half day lower Animas trip was streamlined and fun. Didn't take long to get to and on the river. We had a fun and knowledgeable guide, Carlos, who did a great job. The Rapids in whitewater park were fun! We felt safe and had a great time. We would recommend this company to people stopping through the area. Fun way to see Durango on a hot day!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2016

More Rafting, Less Driving on our Half Day Animas River Trip through Durango!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile

What fun! After a little hiccup with our booking (which they totally made up for!), we had a terrific time on the river! Our guide Jaime was so knowledgeable and confident. She made the trip even more awesome. She did a great job of imparting some minimal knowledge -- enough to make us novice rafters feel like we were taking part AND to give us a taste of this terrific sport. Just what you want as a beginner - ish rafter. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank MarlaS458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2016

Knowledge and confidence is one of many benefits of a 9 year veteran guide, so glad you enjoyed the trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2016

This was our first rafting trip for he family. The guides were all friendly and helpful. Our guide Kristen was fun and encouraging to us newbies! The harder rapid section our 9 year old had to get out and walk due to the higher water. She got to take pictures of us though. Halfway through you stop to get a snack of apples, chips and salsa. I would recommend this company as they did a great job!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Safety is our priority and certain river levels dictate best practices for children to walk the whitewater park. I'm glad to hear you had a great trip and recommend our family friendly raft trip, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Waters Rafting & Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing