We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Motorbike Friendly place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango
Ranked #6 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
187 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Motorbike Friendly place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stay at the Rochester and Leeland House many times over the years while our daughter was attending College at Fort Lewis! This was our first return in two years as we needed a weekend adventure.

I am always worried about how we will be received on the Motorbike. Nothing to worry about, gentleman who acted as a porter was helpful in showing me the parking lot out back for the Leeland House, had no problem with me putting the bike on the Sidewalk below the back entrance near our room while I unloaded the bike. Then showed up the spot where most the motorbikes end up parked under the tree in the hard packed area.

Service, breakfast and staff was great as always!!! Won't be two years before we return again! Absolutely a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The suites have cooking appliances in them so you can cook if you wish too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to have you back here at the Leland House. We look forward to seeing you and your bikes again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
58
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Leland House while passing through Durango for the night. Every part of our experience while there was enjoyable from check-in to check-out. The room was tidy and well decorated with a welcoming feel throughout. The breakfast was delicious especialy, the homemade scones and muffins. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianna83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Owner at The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your Trip Adviser review and your kind words. I will share your review with our kitchen staff.
We appreciate your visit. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future from the Leland House and Rochester Hotel in Durango.
Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I absolutely LOVE this place and will stay here every time whether it is for business or pleasure. The rooms are so inviting and comfortable, the breakfasts are hands down amazing and the staff is beyond friendly and helpful. They have bands and an open bar in their garden, they have beach cruisers you can ride around town on. You are doing yourself a disservice if you don't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Andrea,

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are all so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing to again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
374 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

18 years ago my wife to be made reservations for our Honeymoon at the Leland House. She did good. The folks there made our stay so nice then that we had to go back last June. The same owners have it. It was just as nice. We did get a different room this time, it was actually two rooms, but just as clean and comfortable. We parked in the back so the back stairs were used most of the time. For local walks we used the front. Breakfast is across the street at the Rochester Hotel. The breakfasts were always good an plenty of fruit. We haven't stayed at the hotel but maybe next time. This is a very good location to see Durango and it is not far from the train station. I recommend the train ride to Silverton. The drive around the Million Dollar Highway is good too.

Room Tip: Read reviews. Name brands don't always mean a good room. If in doubts ask to look at the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leroys73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Manager at The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful return visit after 18 years. We are so excited to enter our 20 year history at the Leland House Bed and Breakfast. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance to you in the future.
Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Rochester Hotel/Leland House this year and we just loved it. We were given room 11 in the Leland House portion of the hotel and it was perfect for our needs. It is separate from the main part of the Leland house, faces the alley and has a foyer/sitting area, porch/sitting area, bathroom and bedroom with 2 beds. They have a great pet policy. They even give you a nice, plush dog bed in the bedroom and it is very easy to take your dog out for a walk, because you have a separate entrance. The location is stellar. You can walk all over downtown Durango from here. This is not a fancy or standardized/corporate place. There is paint peeling, and it has an antique "feel" with hard wood floors and unique furniture pieces and that was fine for us. The toiletries were great, and my only complaint is that the room didn't have a microwave. I dislike microwaves, and don't have one at home but when you are traveling and have left-overs, it would be nice to have a way to heat them up. This is an alley room, and it felt safe and quiet for the most part, although a drunk couple showed up on our porch in the middle of the night from the local bar scene, but that was short-lived. I think it was an anomaly. Lodging includes breakfast over at The Rochester Hotel across the street and the breakfast was absolutely amazing every day. The food is wholesome and cooked by happy, kind and service oriented folks. There is a local cat who visits the outside courtyard and he was also adorable. This is a great place and worth checking out if you want to splurge while visiting Durango.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhirledTravels28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, CO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were lucky to stay in the Leland House's dog-friendly suite over the weekend. It is separate from the main building with it's own entry and patio with table and chairs. Though it doesn't have a kitchenette, we were provided with a small fridge and coffee maker. The entry has two comfortable chairs and a dog bed. The large bedroom is decorated simply and furnished with two queen size beds. I love the eco-friendly features: CFL bulbs, shampoo/conditioner/body wash dispenser (instead of those wasteful little containers), low-flow water fixtures. The entire unique space was spotlessly clean. Even though we were right next to a popular restaurant patio, we didn't have any issues with noise.
The breakfast? FANTASTIC!!!! Each day there is a hot breakfast option which also happens to be vegetarian. It was nice for a change not having to ask for special accommodations for our vegetarian daughter. Both mornings we enjoyed fresh scrambled eggs with different cheeses and seasonings, whole grain bread or croissant and potatoes - one day hash browns, the next home fries. There is also a selection of homemade goodies - cranberry orange scones, oatmeal scones, lemon ginger muffins, pumpkin spice bread & carrot walnut bread - all were delicious.
I know, without a doubt, that we will return to the Leland House and recommend it to all our friends. The location is perfect for seeing everything Durango has to offer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marybeth523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Manager at The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Leland House Bed and Breakfast and the Rochester Hotel. We appreciate your review. Customer feedback is very helpful for our business. Please let us know if we can be of assistance at any time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this old hotel in downtown Durango. Fabulous breakfast and the staff was great. We only had one night in Durango on our tour of the Southwest and chose this hotel because of it's location and reviews on Triip Advisor. We we were not disappointed. After driving from Sante Fe our teeneage boys wanted to go for a run while my husband and I were able to walk from the hotel and explore this charming little town. Our boys found a great running trail close by as well. While getting ready to leave the next morning after the wonderful breakfast they provided, my husband realized he had lost his credit card and thought he may have left it in the retaurant we ate at the evening before. The staff was very helpful and called the restaurant and waited on hold for a long time while they tried to locate the card.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank akclub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.0 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango

Property: The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango
Address: 721 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5403
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leland House Bed & Breakfast provides cozy accommodations in the heart of downtown Durango. Offering 3 room suites or 1 room studios, the Leland House is great for families or the busy business traveler. Provided each morning is a full gourmet breakfast, tea and cookies are served each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing