We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good, fresh breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of College Drive Cafe

College Drive Cafe
666 E. College Drive, Durango, CO 81301
+1 970-247-5322
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 183 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cafe, Gluten Free, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, fresh breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Out of our 5 days in the Durango area, this was likely the best place that we ate. It was very busy when we arrived for breakfast service, but our wait was not long. The restaurant is nice and cozy, and very clean. The service was very attentive, upbeat, and friendly. The breakfast was fresh, and didn't taste like it came out a package from the freezer. We had 6 people in our party, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. I had the Denver omelet and it was plenty of food, and left me feeling very satisfied.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JenniferC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    33
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Blueberry Pancake ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I've been eating blueberry pancakes for 50 years and this is the best I've ever eaten. I ordered one pancake instead of two. One is enough unless you are a growing teenager. Franci was our server and very delightful. The service was attentive, hospitable and speedy. The atmosphere is warm and comfortable. Parking area is free and easily accessible. Good value for a reasonable price. Btw, we found this place on tripadvisor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The local food guide made it sound like this is an out-of-the-way place, but from our hotel (Durango Lodge) it is 7 blocks - 6 of those uphill admittedly, but still..7 blocks. The walk takes you away from trendy Main Street into a more workaday neighborhood that appears to be near the local college. The restaurant has a certain "hole in the wall" appearance. Once inside, the staff is great - friendly and accommodating. The food is hearty breakfast fare. Lots of variations on eggs, massive toast, cottage fries, good coffee. "Hearty" also describes the portions. I ordered up an omelet, and the combination of eggy goodness, whole-wheat toast, and potatoes kept me powered for a full day of walking around. Lunch? No need. Prices are reasonable as well. Definitely a place to visit for breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big breakfast at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a friendly restaurant for breakfast. The pancakes are not only the size of the plate, but thick too! It was very filling, and tasty. They offer real maple sirup for an extra charge which is fair, and makes a big difference to me. It is a real down-home place, don't dress up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So very pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Not only is the food outstanding, the service is always a joy. The employees are always so welcoming and warming. Never had a bad experience here. Try the tamales or the huevos. The chorizo is amazing as well. It's made in house which is so awesome! Easily the best breakfast joint in town!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VanHomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed College Drive Cafe also viewed

 

Been to College Drive Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing