We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big breakfast at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of College Drive Cafe

College Drive Cafe
Ranked #20 of 183 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cafe, Vegetarian, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big breakfast at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a friendly restaurant for breakfast. The pancakes are not only the size of the plate, but thick too! It was very filling, and tasty. They offer real maple sirup for an extra charge which is fair, and makes a big difference to me. It is a real down-home place, don't dress up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    33
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So very pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Not only is the food outstanding, the service is always a joy. The employees are always so welcoming and warming. Never had a bad experience here. Try the tamales or the huevos. The chorizo is amazing as well. It's made in house which is so awesome! Easily the best breakfast joint in town!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VanHomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If you want hearty stick to your ribs biscuits and gravy, this the place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Funky 60's is the best description of the atmosphere here. I was the first diner early in the morning and was greeted warmly by the hostess/server and the cook. Topographic maps under the table glass made me feel right at home as a hiker/backpacker. A good menu with traditional and more healthy offerings. The biscuits are hearty and yellow made with good ingredients and thick sausage gravy. If you like fluffy white flour biscuits then might like these. But I would call these some of the best I've had. Good coffee here too. The College Drive Cafe is not open Monday and Tuesday and not real early. But it's worth planning your breakfast around their schedule. I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KB6CLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We actually found this place via Trip Advisor and we were pleasantly surprised. My mom, who is a very picky breakfast person (since she herself is such a good cook) practically licked her plate clean. My girls both really enjoyed their french toast and bagel sandwich. I had stuffed huevos rancheros which was delicious. They also offer 8 or so different eggs benedict options.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GunniMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Great food! Great Vibe! Awesome local eatery about 6 blocks outside of town. The breakfast we had here was the best on out trip out west.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanibelmike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed College Drive Cafe also viewed

 

Been to College Drive Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing