We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Pizza”
Review of Fired Up Pizzeria

Fired Up Pizzeria
Ranked #5 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Description: Authentic Neapolitan wood fired pizza.
South Bend, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pizza”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This may be the best pizza I have eaten. The quality of the ingredients was excellent - fresh mozzarella, excellent fennel sausage. good tomato sauce and very nice crust. The crust was somewhat thin and had a very nice texture. When we walked in the aroma from the kitchen was most inviting and now I can see why. We'll return when in Durango.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    262
    74
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Maybe the best pizza EVER”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I grew up in the Chicago area eating pizza. I worked for about 10 years in pizza joints. I love pizza. It has been a while since I've eaten at Lou Malnoti's or Pizzeria Ono, but Fired Up Pizza just may be the best pizza I ever ate. I know it is the best fennel sausage I have ever eaten, including my grandfathers and mine. This place has it all, great service, awesome food, nice location, reasonable prices. What more could you want?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcarrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We loved it!!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had lunch at Fired Up because... the smell of the pizza wafting to the street was IRRESISTIBLE. And we were not disappointed! We had pizza, salads, sandwiches- all wonderful. And the service was top notch- far better than I would expect at a pizza place for lunch. The kids loved the basil lemonade- an unexpected treat. If you're in downtown Durango, Fired Up is worth a stop!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leasa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Really good pizza and beer!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went to Fired Up Pizza tonight after going back & forth between that & Home Slice Pizza; decided to try Fired Up since we haven't been there yet. We got there right at 6pm & just before everyone else decided to come.

We were seated in a booth & Megan quickly took our drink order ($2 Colorado draft beer on Thursday night). We ordered a custom 8" Bianca pizza with feta & spinach and a Lemon Rucola pizza (margherita base, baby arugola, shaved parmesan, fresh black pepper, olive oil and lemon wedge). There were lots of yummy sounding specialty pizzas on the menu but you can also customize an 8" or 12" pizza starting with a margherita, bianca, pesto or marinara base.

There are daily specials ($2 draft beer Thursdays... and apparently $4 house wine) - Margherita Mondays and Tuesday 1/2 price add ons to custom 12" pizzas. We may have to visit again during this visit to Durango!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaB_012331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Interesting and okay”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I don't know why this is getting rave reviews.

We did get a great seat, which not all diners do, where we could watch them making the pizzas and using their big tiled oven. That was cool. They didn't have a great selection of beers. We waited quite a while for our pizza. We ordered a 12" because the menu says it will feed 1-2 people and we don't eat much at all. We wish we had ordered two. Because they were mostly dough. Very thin dough. The 12" pizza was 16.50: it had artichokes, mushrooms, some basil, some Parmesan, and I don't remember what else. Only a few mushrooms, a few leaves of basil, so little Parmesan I couldn't find it, and 4 little pieces of artichoke. My partner got three pieces of artichoke, so I only got one. The pizza really was mostly dough.

Not my idea of a 16.50 lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaya7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fired Up Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Fired Up Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing