We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Powerhouse Science Center
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Fun way to spend a couple of hours with kids

There is more here than first meets the eye. This is a fun, interactive center geared towards ages... read more

Reviewed March 11, 2019
Suzanne K
,
Mesa, Arizona
pretty good for a small museum.

Our 6, 7, and 9 year old enjoyed this museum for a couple of hours. Some of the exhibits were... read more

Reviewed August 15, 2018
Ronald M
,
Kingwood, Texas
Read all 75 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Durango
from $43.87
More Info
from $49.00
More Info
from $61.00
More Info
from $65.27
More Info
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
33
27
10
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
33
27
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great learning flight simulator couple of hours all ages two hours exhibits interactive museum brain topography fun snakes puzzles projected roam
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 75 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2017

This place show everyone that science can be fun. There is a fun climbing corner for people that need to burn some energy. It is packed full of different learning areas from electric, to topography to air pressure. My grand children love this place so much I gifted a year membership. Helpful staff, beautiful setting, great learning.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank colleenmarchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2016

My 4.5 year old son LOVED this place! He didnt want to leave. We were in town for the Polar Express, but visited the Science Center. Its very interactive. We had so much fun together with him! Great place. He absolutely loved it. We will HAVE to go back next time we are in Durango, CO.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank LLG12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016

My children ages 3, 5, and 8 loved this place. They spent a lot of time building paper rockets and launching them in the pressure tubes. It was a really cool hands on exhibit. If you are a member of another children's or science museum you may be eligible for a discount, but it is definitely worth it at full price too. It is also a really interesting building with a great location along the Animas River. This museum is as nice as any children's museum I have visited in much larger cities. Durango is lucky to have the Powerhouse Science Center.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Matt481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2016

We visited the Powerhouse Center while on vacation in Durango. My son is 8 years old and really enjoyed it. It would be great for younger children, too. Unlike many children's museums, this place is great for older children. Even the adult teachers in our group were very interested in it.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank MommyDommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016

We enjoyed our visit to the powerhouse even though we did not have kids with us. The history of the building is well displayed. it was unfortunate that there were many exhibits/activities that were non-functional (dead batteries, blown lightbulbs, computer program non-responsive, etc)

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank ASMallory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews