We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“So-So” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Powerhouse Science Center

Powerhouse Science Center
Ranked #26 of 65 things to do in Durango
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So-So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a science discovery attraction. Hands on activities for small children. Would not recommend children under 7 or over 12. Pricy especially for adults since all activities are for children.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Farmerhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kids loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a small but fun museum for kids. Only a few hours is needed but the tickets are good for the entire day. They have a room just for Legos which older kids like.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank friends19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Support Science in Small Communities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Durango Discovery Museum is a community supported non-profit and a wonderful asset for a town as small as Durango. I have two boys 4 and 6 and they had a blast! Some of the exhibits were a bit worn out and balls were missing from the blue building block section but overall it was a wonderful day of play with my kids. There were live baby chicks (well 1) and even though a chick holding wasn't scheduled until 4pm, the nice front desk lady did one with us one-on-one when we asked. The staff were very friendly and took time to explain science content of the exhibits very throughly. If you have time to kill with kids under 10 this is the best use of your time and money in Durango.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
159 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Neat place BUT.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The admission fee was not bad (21.00 for two adults and a six year old). The place was great for hands on experience. This is the Bad: Many of the exhibits are hands on and you can make items ,however, the items were not stocked so over half of the exhibits we could not do. Another horrible encounter was there was a bloody small chick with its face in the bedding (it was obvious it was not going to make it) crying for help and it was left for young children to witness...shame on you! Now, set those two bad vibes apart the place would be great for children to roam so I do not have to chase a six year old around.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank nano262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milliken, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not Much To Do For The Money, But What's There Is Fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We came here because we thought it was the history museum (obvious ignorance at work). When we realized our mistake, we thought "What the heck," and paid the admission, which was sort of steep.

It's really interesting how the museum is in the old Durango power station. It's also cool how they sell refreshments.

We explored and the vacuum tubes and hankies activity was really fun, and so were the bottle cars and rockets. The sad part was, in all the activities where you have to build things, all the materials were missing. It was really small, too, and there was virtually nothing to do or read in the power station exhibit.

It was SOO COOL how they had live chicks in there! Baby chickens! So cute! Too bad we didn't get to hold them.

The little machine near the door, try not to get interested in it (which is HARD), because you'll get sucked into it and you could spend HOURS watching that thing go!

I would recommend children 4-9 to go, preferably in parties or groups. You should also call ahead to make sure they have people ready to give you a tour and all the materials to be ready.

Overall, this was a pretty cool museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JynxieLynxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powerhouse Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Powerhouse Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing