We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Durango Must Do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bread

Bread
Ranked #1 of 3 Bakeries in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Durango Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

If you go to Durango, go here for bread, pastries, etc. Be warned if you yank out a credit card they'll politely tell you to put it away. That's right cash only. So drop by the ATM grab some dinero and get here. You will not be disappointed. It very bicycle culture oriented and has a good vibe.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K_Neutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Life Changing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Believe the reviews that say the Sow Your Oats Cookie is amazing. It truly was life changing...I don't ever usually like oatmeal raisin cookies but this one was over the top! The perfect blend of oats and sweetness...I highly recommend it with a cup of coffee to go a long. Stop in here for an incredible treat and lovely environment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchman i New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best bread in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

On our way to the mountains or the Utah sandstone country Bread in Durango is our regular stop. Somehow we always manage to be there around lunch time. Many varieties of the kind of excellent crusty bread I generally have found hard to find in the US. In the (extended) area only Sage bakehouse in Santa Fe would be in the same class. Bread's sandwiches are a must, and their coffee is excellent. Don't expect much in the way of seating but there are a few spots outside. A little out of the way of the downtown area but worth the modest detour!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gvmnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
230 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Everything fresh - bread, cookies, sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Everything is fresh at this bakery on the outskirts of Durango. The olive bread is to die for, get there early because it sells out. But don't worry, their other breads are excellent also. Their sandwiches are fully-loaded and delicious -- I love the turkey cranberry.Cookies? absolutely. The Sow Your Oats is as healthy as a cookie can be. Also try the ginger, chocolate chip, peanut butter. Bring cash, they don't take credit cards.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cedar880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We rented a home not far from Bread during our first ever trip to Durango. I had read reviews on Trip Advisor before going, so I was looking forward to our Bread shopping trip. The breads were fabulous, the coffee superb, and the cookies were huge and tasty. We kept the house stocked with these staples for our stay. Yum! Delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AppletonWItraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread also viewed

 

Been to Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing