We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Name Says it Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bread

Bread
Ranked #1 of 3 Bakeries in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Name Says it Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Bread. What could be simpler? But making a truly great bread, consistently, is not as simple as one may think. But these folks do it, and have been doing it for years. I have traveled all over the southwest, and even to what are considered some of the finest and most expensive bakeries in California, and have not found a ciabatta as good as Bread's. Believe me, I have tried. The sandwiches are first-rate, and the cookies! I am a cookie fan, and here are the best ginger cookies in town. Their sow-your-own-oats is a complete breakfast in a cookie. I am allergic to chocolate (yeah, poor me), so I can't comment on those, but if the rest of their goodies are any indication, well, you get the picture. I am supposed to mark when I visited but, hey, I visit all the time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Coffee, cookies and bread!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

A one stop shop for all your "bread" needs. Special made breads, cookies, sandwiches and strong coffee. Quick friendly service with a smile. They don't accept credit cards which is a bum, so be prepared with cash or local check.
Go early in the morning as the selection is always best. Got an important entertaining dinner? Stop by for a delicious made that day bread for your meal

Helpful?
Thank Dgojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The absolute best bread!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

There isn't much more to say than that, other than you have to go to Bread. This is a dedicated group of folks that use quality ingredients to make an excellent product. There isn't anything that doesn't taste delicious in that store. Go early!! They sell out of favorites quickly. Fridays, try their Challah....awesome!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConnieW710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Art & Science Of Bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is the only place in town I've found to get a truly authentic baguette. It seems (to me) that often a bakery's baguette is a litmus test regarding the rest of their offerings. If they have the desire, equipment and skill to produce consistently delicious, authentic baguettes, then they do other things well, too -- which Bread does. Also, unlike some other places in Durango, the service has always been courteous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReadyToTravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Just Bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Bread has great breakfast and lunch pastries, it sells sandwiches and of course bread. However, when I want to do something special for someone, I buy some of their mega cookies. YUMM!! Their cookies are a guilty pleasure. My other favorite is their round loaf of sourdough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread also viewed

 

Been to Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing