We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“..great gem in Durango.”
Review of Wapiti Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wapiti Lodge
Ranked #8 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 30, 2012

...I stay in Durango a lot over the weekends, and I've always wanted to stay here. There's a sign on the front of the property "last hotel for 150 feet". It makes you laugh. It's right next door to the Residence Inn.

This place is darling. It's a smal - local motel - no chain. It has rooms with King bed, queen beds, and also Kitchenettes. The prices are much more than reasonable. It does not have any breakfast provided, but the store is a short 3 minute drive. If you need a small refrigerator or microwave put in your home, they will gladly do it. They do provide a coffee maker also.

The rooms are quaint and VERY clean - the beds were very comfortable, too. There is a small grassy area with playground equipment for the kids. There is a also a picnic table and grill if you're so inclined.

I was very impressed. The owners were very nice and go out of their way to assist you. A definate A+++ in Durango. Will definitely stay again...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KUMtngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Wapiti Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 78 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

If we can find them, my wife and I are always in search of the locally run motel. Often times they turn out to be a cheap franchise, are dirty and a disapointing stay. Wapiti lodge is a true find!

This is a family run motel just a short 10min walk from the Historic Durango Downtown -our number one criterion. Its location is awesome; walking along the 160 into town can be a little crazy in winter, but they keep the sidewalk plowed, so we were able to push our stroller w/out a problem. You then cross the river and have a short and lovely walk to downtown.

The grounds are very attractive and look like a park, with a small playground. We also brought our dog and felt very safe with him in the front of the motel as it is set back a good distance from the main road. They are very dog friendly -I would hate to see someone take advantage of these nice folks with an untrained animal.

I'm not certain, but I think all the rooms have a soft remodel, new carpet, paint, and fresh look. The shower has awesome water pressure and the room stayed nice and cozy during our Durango winter storm.

For this price, I was extremely impressed with this family run business. If you want the little shampoos, bathrobes, and flatscreens... walk two minutes down the road and spend two to three times the money on the brand names. Other than that, this place makes you feel like your at home!

I've stayed all over town and you won't find a deal this good this close to Downtown. While this is not a five star hotel (more like 2-3star) I rated it 5 star due to its outstanding value, service, cleaniness and appeal.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank orittabaq2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunkelelfpirotess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lostcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkroon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.6 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#23 of 33 in Durango
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#11 of 33 in Durango
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wapiti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapiti Lodge

Address: 21625 Highway 160, Durango, CO 81301-6808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range: $71 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wapiti Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home away from home in beautiful Durango, Colorado. The Wapiti Lodge has been a part of the Durango magic since 1965. (Wapiti means "elk" in native Cree language). Located within easy walking distance to historic downtown Durango, you can leave the car behind and enjoy a leisurely stroll to dining, shopping, local events including the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. With rooms to fit any style or preference, we invite you to come stay with friends and enjoy our family owned and operated hospitality. The Wapiti Lodge offers all non-smoking rooms with or without kitchens, one bed or two beds and rooms that can sleep up to five people. All rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Wapiti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing