We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our three teenaged sons love this place!”
Review of Purgatory Resort

Purgatory Resort
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Purgatory Resort is a family-friendly, four-season resort offering a variety of activities for all ages. In the winter, enjoy alpine skiing and snowboarding, snow shoeing, horse-drawn sleigh rides, Nordic skiing, snowmobiling and more. Summer and fall offers hiking, mountain biking, Alpine Slide rides, zipline, scenic chairlift, disc golf, bungee trampolines, climbing walls, miniature golf and more.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our three teenaged sons love this place!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The ski trails offer choices and a increasing levels of excitement, and yet, they are not too difficult for Texas kids who rarely get to go skiing. I recommend it highly!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JacquelynMcCrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    151
    51
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice View...bear and all”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Took the Chair Life to the Top and walked about. great VISTAS all around. Lots for the kids and grandkids to do here in summer.
Actually spotted a good size BEAR on the ride down, promptly informed the staff who immediately went into action to protect the hikers still on the mountain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LAPgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Safety issues galore”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We rented a couple condos for a family getaway. We had 5 adults, 5 kids, ranging from age 3 to 15. Definitely geared for younger kids but the older ones had some options, including mountain biking and the diggler. However, VERY expensive.

We had a bad experience getting left on the chair lift on the mountain bike uplift/scenic tour lift during a lightning and thunder storm...3 adults and 4 kids completely unaccounted for by the crew who did did not seem to care that we were stuck. We had to call the emergency line (make sure you take the number) twice before they restarted the lift. They seemed to only take us seriously after they heard the thunder in the background while we were panicking on the phone. We were up there for a good 30 minutes before we restarted. We were never fully compensated and were very unhappy with the personal relations. No one said that they were sorry for our experience. Other safety issues included the employees being aloof on the other rides (kids jumping on trampoline with knots in the harness---thank goodness not my kid) and not-well-marked bike trails.

Be aware that the attractions close early and you can't get a drink (coffee or beer) after 9. For the amount it costs to stay there, you should have better access.

All in all, we could have went anywhere and had a great time together. Next time we would try somewhere else nearby.



Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EstimatedAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurangoMtnResort, Public Relations Manager at Purgatory Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The team at Durango Mountain Resort takes the safety of our guests extremely serious. Durango Mountain Resort utilizes lightning detectors and when lightning is detected within a certain range, the team gets everyone off the lift and halts our summer activities until the storm passes. On this particular day that is referenced in the review, Durango Mountain Resort experienced an extremely fast moving storm. As a result of a lightning strike, the chairlift lost power. Maintenance quickly responded and switched the lift to auxiliary power and the operations crew ran the lift in order to get all of our guests off the lift as quickly and safely as possible. Our lift operators track our guests who are on the lift in order to account for everyone and were aware that we still had guests on the lift prior to your phone call. We apologize for any miscommunication and confusion about what our lift operators were doing and how they were getting people off the lift. To address your comment about the bungee trampoline, harnesses are inspected everyday and after receiving your comments, we double checked with the crew and saw that no harnesses were knotted. We have taken your comments under review in order to improve our communications. We want our guests to feel that they are having a positive and safe experience with all our activities. We hope that you will give us another try and visit our resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Alpine Slide”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

It rained shortly after we purchased tickets and we received a full refund and an apology. What a great staff and excellent policies for weather and families!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good not great”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Got the all access pass. If we had been mountain biking I'd rate it higher. Alpine slide was fun, but line was too long to wait for another run. Probably really just 2 hours worth of stuff to do unless you're doing it over and over and over again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Purgatory Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing