We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away”
Review of Cascade Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cascade Village
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Our studio loft was in pretty good shape, could use a good deep-cleaning and a new fold out couch, but was satisfactory. We had ample room, and knew going into the deal that there wasn't an AC, so that wasn't an issue. It was cool enough during the day and very cool at night so the floor fan and ceiling fan did a great job cooling it down. The value was right and accommodations were good. Would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReginaMcWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Cascade Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Our unit was clean and comfortable. While ours had no significant view, the location (between Durango and Silverton) is beautiful. Service here was just fine.

The downsides that we knew about were that there is no AC and it is 30 minutes from Durango. The prices scared us away from nearby restaurants.

We wanted to use the washing machine, but it did not work.

Other than that, we enjoyed our four night stay

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahrlebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo was beautiful. Nice assortment of kitchen utensils except only 2 water glasses and one towel and one pot holder. Next time in stay in condos and suites I'll bring along some disposable cups...seemed to be a problem everywhere we stayed. Beautiful setting and easy 35 min. drive from Durango. As noted it is not air conditioned, but once we got the windows open and fans started it was very comfortable with 85 degree day. Room for a family of 6-7. They definitely need to tell their patrons to check in at Purgatory back down the mountain 2 miles, there was no check in on this condo sight, you can also use the facilities at Purgatory.....if you want to drive 2 miles.......big inconvenience if you need anything from the office!!!!

Room Tip: Privately owned condos so rooms do vary.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

First of all... no air conditioning. When we arrived to our 3 bedroom unit, it was stale and hot. We went to turn on the A/C to find that there was none. (Strike one). We found that the unit was very run down (don't go by the pictures on the website). The screen doors were either broken or missing and the trash was not emptied. When we went to open the windows, one crank was broken and the other one has a broken window. We went to the main desk to complain only to receive an additional 5% off our bill (could they spare it?). We were then ready for dinner. (Strike Two) The food was fair at most. They even forgot to cook one of our orders. So that came late. We complained and they took it off the bill. One of the bar people asked us how we were enjoying our stay and we gave him both barrels. He said he would take care of it. He managed to convince management to give us another unit. Again, missing or broken screen doors and here's a new one, electric outlets that would not keep whatever you've got to plug in... plugged in! The plugs were falling out of the sockets... every one of them! (Strike Three) Needless to say, I will NEVER stay there again and I urge you to look elsewhere to spare you from the disappointment and aggravation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 150Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Cascade Village for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. We rented it through the owners and not the local rental office. The condo is one of the newer units with 3 large bedrooms and 3 baths. Modern gourmet kitchen with granite counters and stainless steel appliances. Well stocked. Large loft with a second living area with play station and flat screen t.v. There were a total of 4 flat screens in the unit. We had a breath taking view of Engineer Mountain, the Needles Range, and Spud Mountain. Gorgeous gas fireplace. Being June, it was very quiet and we enjoyed seeing the neighborhood deer, bear, and marmots. Cascade is about half way between Durango and Silverton. This was a wonderful vacation !

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank rqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place was about 40 minutes north of Durango on the mountain. It was awesome to be able to spend a night in the snow!! It was May so the snow was minimal but we are from Texas so an inch is like a foot to me!!!! The place was well taken care of and very clean. Very spacious and very comfortable!! The views are amazing!!! Will defiantly be going back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjaytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Condo is is good condition, clean and rooms are well appointed. Kitchen was really poorly stocked with cookware. The condo was clean but housekeeping couldn't manage to perform basic tasks like replacing towels and emptying trash during our 5 day stay, even though the complex was practically empty, the staff told us they were too "slammed" to bring fresh dish towels and toilet paper.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.8 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
1.8 mi away
Purgatory Lodge at Purgatory Resort
23.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 34 in Durango
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
260 reviews
28.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
27.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Village

Address: 50827 Highway 550, 1 Mile North of Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301-9602
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Price Range: $83 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cascade Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All spacious accommodations at the Cascade Village are equipped with modern amenities. These include free Internet connections, wood-burning fireplaces, cable televisions, clock radios, refrigerators, microwave ovens and balconies. Bathrooms come with jetted tubs, among others.The Cascade Village offers various recreational facilities. These include an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a tennis court and a fitness center. This resort also provides free on-site vehicle parking and facilities for various occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Cascade Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Village Hotel Durango
Cascade Village Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing