We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Animas River Cafe

Animas River Cafe
501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
970-259-6580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 183 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Animas River Cafe features a great selection of mile-high sandwiches and ''Grille'' specialties. Open during the Summer Season every day for lunch and Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings. You will enjoy casual patio dining in the mountain air while enjoying views of the majestic Animas River. Open every day for lunch 11:00 to 2:00Open Thurs, Fri and Sat evenings 5:00 to 10:00High Altitude Blues playing on Thursday nightLee Bartley Jazz playing on Saturday night
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were expecting a great experience at the restaurant based on our experiences at the Doubletree but were very disappointed. After we were seated, we were ignored. Finally, someone took our drink order, but then nothing ....... We went to the hostess and shortly our drinks arrived. Again, a long wait until our food order was taken. Our soup was delivered, and that was the last we saw of anyone. To make a long story short, we finally left cash on the table for our drinks and soup, and left. ( after an hour).

We went upstairs to talk to a supervisor, and got little except excuses for the poor service. After a short discussion, the supervisor did offer to make up for the poor service and brought our meal up to the room.

A disappointing evening, but the staff did try to make amends. I will probably not eat in the hotel again because there are many wonderful restaurants with exemplary service downtown.

The Doubletree is an outstanding hotel - but the restaurant needs some attention.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruffus06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TEXAS
Level Contributor
198 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“ANIMAS RIVER CAFE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great place for lunch. There are a lot of good places in town, but it is nice to get away from the extra people. The service and the food was very good. If you are in the mood for a drink they have a great selection.
It was fun watching the people rafting down the river. Another must stop.

BUD CARTER

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BUDCARTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantanstic food & music & views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fantastic waiter and staff were very courteous and friendly. The views of the river with all of the locals using the river was a neat sight. The live jazz was also a memorable experience. I had a ranchers salad that I enjoyed. The prices are a bit high for some things on the menu, but the food, good service and view make it worth every penny!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hotelman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level Contributor
209 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ate two meals at this restaurant and have no complaints. The food was good with adequate proportions and good quality. It was convient with a great river view

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank raydon46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Change of Pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent a week in Durango, Colorado. Great place and lots of good places to eat. But the Animas River Cafe is a really nice change of pace from the Historic Downtown hubbub, and even from some really great places where the locals eat. The Cafe is on the Animas River (you probably already figured that). It is on the backside of the Double Tree Hotel and is just about 30 feet from river's edge. The menu has a lot of variety. We ate there twice and had the Four Corners Salad (FANTASTIC...and I'm not a big salad guy), The Reuben sandwich, and the Ale-battered fish. All were really good, especially the salads. And their iced tea was WONDERFUL...you can get really hot and thirsty walking along the river, and the tea was perfect.

The wait staff were prompt and really friendly. All of the seating is outside, either under a large awning, or cafe umbrellas. I can't say enough about how refreshing our mealtimes were at the Animas River Cafe.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing