We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“We liked it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Animas River Cafe

Animas River Cafe
Ranked #95 of 185 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Animas River Cafe features a great selection of mile-high sandwiches and ''Grille'' specialties. Open during the Summer Season every day for lunch and Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings. You will enjoy casual patio dining in the mountain air while enjoying views of the majestic Animas River. Open every day for lunch 11:00 to 2:00Open Thurs, Fri and Sat evenings 5:00 to 10:00High Altitude Blues playing on Thursday nightLee Bartley Jazz playing on Saturday night
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We liked it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ate two meals at this restaurant and have no complaints. The food was good with adequate proportions and good quality. It was convient with a great river view

Visited August 2013
Thank raydon46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Change of Pace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent a week in Durango, Colorado. Great place and lots of good places to eat. But the Animas River Cafe is a really nice change of pace from the Historic Downtown hubbub, and even from some really great places where the locals eat. The Cafe is on the Animas River (you probably already figured that). It is on the backside of the Double Tree Hotel and is just about 30 feet from river's edge. The menu has a lot of variety. We ate there twice and had the Four Corners Salad (FANTASTIC...and I'm not a big salad guy), The Reuben sandwich, and the Ale-battered fish. All were really good, especially the salads. And their iced tea was WONDERFUL...you can get really hot and thirsty walking along the river, and the tea was perfect.

The wait staff were prompt and really friendly. All of the seating is outside, either under a large awning, or cafe umbrellas. I can't say enough about how refreshing our mealtimes were at the Animas River Cafe.

Visited July 2013
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super little summer getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Loved this little place tucked away along the river with great views. Food was terrific, too. Great couples date place while the weather is nice

Visited July 2013
Thank JDinOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch on the River...doesn't get any better than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not the cheapest place in town...but nothing beats the scenery outside on their patio - pay a couple bucks more for the atmosphere and tastier menu...well worth it!

Visited June 2013
Thank SchoolCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Patio Dining in Durango”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Doubletree Hotel sure doesn't take the opportunity to make this restaurant happen. The location is the best in our beautiful town but the service is consistently sketchy. The food is good and out of the same kitchen as the main restaurant inside. We had a burger and a grilled chicken sandwich. The potato chips are brought to the table as an appetizer and they're to die for! Fun lunch cocktail menu too. The place just screams for some attention to detail to make it rock!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank kanddDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing