We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It rains in the rain forest!! Who knew??”

San Juan National Forest
Ranked #2 of 66 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wilderness area consisting of forested mountains, 14,000-foot peaks, scenic roads, geological formations, prehistoric communities and a narrow-gauge railroad.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It rains in the rain forest!! Who knew??”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Had never been in a real rain forest before and had no idea there was one in the National Parks system. I took a tour from our cruise ship and really enjoyed it. Word of warning though - take rain gear with you!! Facilities were pretty, natural, and clean. Lots of buses but no real crowds that I saw. Other people on our cruise did the hike and loved it. Might try that next time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    49
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Natures Playground”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had a blast driving through the park and stopping at various points of interest. If you're in the area, dedicate a day to playing in the San Juan National Forest.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ncparker91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful sights”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

this is a peaceful way to see Colorado.
also some great hiking trails.. just make sure you are prepared for hi altitude and take water with you!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cjgdurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Tx
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We took the train through the San Juan Nat'l Forest. Beautiful..full of lakes, a river runs the length of it, and waterfalls.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank doggiemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Durango and the San Juans”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had never been to southwest Colorado before, Wow! Stayed 5 nites at the Holiday Inn (new). Downtown Durango was great fun. Drove up to Silverton two separate days. One day we explored some back country mining roads around Silverton and also a short hike up to a lake. Another day we drove the "Loop", Silverton, Ouray, Ridgeway, Telluride and back thru Cortez. The vistas are spectacular!!!! Another day we visited Mesa Verde Natl. Park. This is also a must do! The last was spent in and around Durango. Spent several hours at the Ute museum as well. One last thing. If you like mountain driving and spectacular vistas, we drove from Gunnison to Durango following route #149 and #160. This route takes you thru Lake City, Creede, South Fork, and Pagosa Springs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank John o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Juan National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing