We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Already a great trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum

Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum
Book In Advance
$113*
and up
Bus to Silverton and Train to Durango Full Day Experience
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop aboard a coal-fired, steam-powered locomotive that travels along the same railroad tracks that miners, cowboys and the early settlers of the Old West used over a hundred years ago. The route winds in and out of canyons and past open wilderness affording great views. The price of a ticket also includes admission to the D&SNGRR Museum and the Silverton Freight Yard Museum.
Taylor, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Already a great trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was my third trip on the train. It gets better each time! We sat in an open gondola car and enjoyed spectacular views and the raging river below. The kids loved it too! Tip: take the bus to SIlverton and ride the train down. You get a different perspective this way! Our bus driver was very informative on the drive over!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank karouselkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,383
    643
    102
    34
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must do in Durango, but take the buss back and make sure you get a closed in car.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time riding the railroad all the way to Silverton in July. I would recommend sitting in the closed in car instead of the open cars. It ended up raining on out way back home and I was glad I was able to shut the window and keep the rain out. The scenery in so amazing. It's hard to even describe in words. My only compliant is our car attendant could have done a better job with speaking about the history of the railroad. On the way back we had a volunteer, but she was only available for questions for like 5 minutes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob_Davidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Choose your seat wisely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad ride was awesome! What we didn't realize was that sitting on the right side going up and sitting on the left side going down would give the best views. Actually, we rode the bus up to Silverton. The bus driver gave all sorts of facts as we drove, so sit up front so you can hear. We rode the train down, and we sat on the right side of the open air gondola. The Animas River weaves so both sides get some river view, but one side gets the best view of the deep gorges. Sitting on the right side coming down did allow us to have more space to sit because few people booked that side. I loved looking at the rock formations so I was happy where I was sitting. *Bring a light jacket, a bag/backpack, camera, binoculars, snacks, and cash. The shopping in Silverton was very reasonable.*We were warned that riding the train up and down was too long.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Train”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A must do beautiful ride friendly people the town of Silverton is quite unique . Loved Handlebars restr.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 21Dixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“AWESOME TRAIN RIDE !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It's no wonder the Durango & Silverton Railroad has been consistently rated one of the top ten train rides---the scenery is awesome. Beginning in Durango, the narrow gauge train traverses through town into meadows, up through piney forests, through mountain passes gaining an elevation of 3000 feet to the historic mining town of Silverton at an elevation of 9,305 feet.

Since it was a very warm day in Durango, we were glad we had reservations for the open-air gondola, the least expensive seating (adult $85/child $51). The padded seats face to the side for a great view. It was also nice to be able to stand much of the time without being in anyone else's way. We had a little ash residue but it wasn't harmful to anyone in our car.

The right side of the train is the best for viewing. We loved looking down at the Animas River rushing down from the mountains. In some spots, we could actually reach out and touch the canyon wall. In other spots, we were very aware of how close we were to the edge of the mountain---not for the faint-of-heart. In the gondola car, our views were not limited as we could look way out over and way up high giving us the feel that we were one with nature.

The trip to Silverton on the train takes three and a half hours; and it would take that much time to return. We chose to ride the bus back to Durango, which is a ride of about an hour. The bus return cost an extra $17. We were glad we made that choice because it gave us some extra time in Silverton. We arrived back in Durango even before the first train of the day arrived back at the Durango depot. Reservations are a must for the bus return.

This is a one-of-a-kind-must-do adventure, especially if you are a railroad buff and enjoy breathtaking scenery.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing