We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Durango to Silverton Trainride” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum

Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum
Book In Advance
$113.42*
and up
Bus to Silverton and Train to Durango Full Day Experience
Ranked #1 of 66 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop aboard a coal-fired, steam-powered locomotive that travels along the same railroad tracks that miners, cowboys and the early settlers of the Old West used over a hundred years ago. The route winds in and out of canyons and past open wilderness affording great views. The price of a ticket also includes admission to the D&SNGRR Museum and the Silverton Freight Yard Museum.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Durango to Silverton Trainride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We picked an ideal time to go. All the leaves changing colors and smaller crowds. We really enjoyed the beauty all around us. I've wanted to do this ride for 20+ years. We really enjoyed it. If we had been allowed on the platforms between the cars to take pictures and enjoy the scenery more, it would have been a better trip

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,766
    735
    119
    40
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I last rode the line in the year 2000. I just had to do it again, and I was not disappointed. The whole trip is run very efficiently by friendly and helpful staff. The scenery is almost out of this world. There are many places on the route where you say to yourself, "How on earth did they build this line all those years ago?" Silverton itself is well worth the visit. A visit to the museum at Durango is well worth making. We also booked a tour of the workshops, which is a small extra cost. Our guide was Gary who was brilliant. It was great to be able to see locos being worked on, and whilst we were on the tour we were able to see one of the coaches being lifted for maintenance. One word of advice. Whilst it can be warm, even hot in Durango, it can get cold in Silverton. So be prepared to take extra warm clothes. This is a must do trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Perfect day trip, especially if you have out-of-town guests -- but take the bus back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We highly recommend that you take this day-trip, which is on the list of the top ten train trips in the world. The rugged scenery is spectacular and it's fun to explore Silverton, an old silver mining town. Don't wear good clothes because you'll be sprinkled with fly-ash from the coal-burning engine. Also, bring a warm sweatshirt or jacket, even in summer -- it snowed on us in Silverton one July Fourth! Reserve months in advance, especially for the summer. Reserve seats on the right side of the train going up -- in an outside car in the summer and an inside one in winter. We suggest you do not buy a round-trip train ticket but rather take the bus back (they will arrange this for you). The train back is nowhere near as scenic because you'll be on the wrong side of the train for the views. It is a wonderful but long day; we and most of our guests think the train trip back is a bit much. The bus gives you a different view and is faster.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob and Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
238 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Sweet ride, cool scenery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Nice little trip from Silverton in Gondola! Was a little chilly so bundle up! Yummy Rusty Stake aka hot nutty Irishman helped to warm us up. Coffee is served cowboy style! ;) Jordan stepped right in to help any way he could! I appreciated his kindness. Chris at the Silverton depot was also very friendly and helpful. Overall, a very good experience and everyone should do this at least once in their lifetime!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank fitz49525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great trip. Beautiful scenery. Terrific staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

A friend and I made this trip towards the end of October, 2013, and it was a great experience. We had seats at a table in the 'Prospector' car which was a closed car and it was warm and cozy.. I wondered how the passengers in the 'open' car were doing on the way back as it rained and snowed on that leg of the trip? We had been advised, by friends, to sit on the right hand side going up to Silverton and this was great advice.
Our Attendant, Heather, was very knowledgeable on the history of the railway and also did a running commentary on the scenery and points of interest all along the way.
Heather also supplied refreshments - like tea - coffee - bottled water, beer - and more. She did such a great job and we thank her very much.
Great experience and we hope to repeat it one day in the future.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank montybush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing