We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Prospector car up to Silverton and back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum

Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum
Book In Advance
$113.42*
and up
Bus to Silverton and Train to Durango Full Day Experience
Ranked #1 of 65 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop aboard a coal-fired, steam-powered locomotive that travels along the same railroad tracks that miners, cowboys and the early settlers of the Old West used over a hundred years ago. The route winds in and out of canyons and past open wilderness affording great views. The price of a ticket also includes admission to the D&SNGRR Museum and the Silverton Freight Yard Museum.
Dallas Tx
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Prospector car up to Silverton and back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Loved it! Great scenic train. Very comfortable fun and relaxing. I would recommend sitting on left forward side of the train. There are no shades..the sun was a killer on our side during Oct. ride.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank doggiemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,610
    705
    112
    39
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best Steam Railway trip you will ever do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It was a fantastic trip, the scenery breathtaking as we climbed through the forests to Silverton. Book the open carriages better for photography.
A big WOW factor here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were 6 people, 3 generations. We went to the train museum the day before riding the train and during the ride often commented on something we'd seen or heard at the museum. I recommend doing that! We requested getting on at Rockwood Station, which was a great decision for the kids; it shortened the ride by an hour each way and according to some other folks on the train we didn't miss anything by doing that. The ride was beautiful and the crew made sure that we got our questions answered about the area and the train itself. My granddaughter LOVED the hot chocolate in the refillable mug. We were seated in a closed coach but my husband frequently went into an open coach to get terrific pictures. We wished we had more time in Silverton, as we made the mistake of going to a restaurant to eat and the service was extremely slow. We should have brought a picnic lunch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank asenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was a lot of fun to ride the train to Silverton and return later in the day to Durango. The scenery was wonderful. The vintage steam powered train was a great experience for young and old. The conductors and volunteers were helpful and answered all our questions. It was 3 and a half hours to Silverton. We ate lunch at Grumpy's Saloon and walked around town before the return trip. The weather was warm enough to sit in the outdoor car on the way back to Durango.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GallivantingGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Freezing cold but amazing views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was an amazing trip in the outside car. I would ride in this car again because the views are better and you can move from one side of the car to the other, but wear gloves and a hat, and layers of coats and sweaters! But go!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gayleh-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing