We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum
Book In Advance
$113.42*
and up
Bus to Silverton and Train to Durango Full Day Experience
Ranked #1 of 65 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop aboard a coal-fired, steam-powered locomotive that travels along the same railroad tracks that miners, cowboys and the early settlers of the Old West used over a hundred years ago. The route winds in and out of canyons and past open wilderness affording great views. The price of a ticket also includes admission to the D&SNGRR Museum and the Silverton Freight Yard Museum.
Yorktown Heights, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was a lot of fun to ride the train to Silverton and return later in the day to Durango. The scenery was wonderful. The vintage steam powered train was a great experience for young and old. The conductors and volunteers were helpful and answered all our questions. It was 3 and a half hours to Silverton. We ate lunch at Grumpy's Saloon and walked around town before the return trip. The weather was warm enough to sit in the outdoor car on the way back to Durango.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GallivantingGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,592
    704
    111
    39
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seabeck, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Freezing cold but amazing views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was an amazing trip in the outside car. I would ride in this car again because the views are better and you can move from one side of the car to the other, but wear gloves and a hat, and layers of coats and sweaters! But go!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gayleh-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful train ride, a bit long but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The views from the train were beautiful but the ride is long so be prepared. The Parlor Car was at the very back of the train so a lot of side-to-side movement. Everyone was so helpful for our relative's needs with his ALS. Silverton is such a nice small town to walk around.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank howloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
340 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Amazing train set display”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The highlight of the museum for me was the train set display. My dad had a smaller, similar one growing up. This one had great detail and was enormous. The trains and parts were interesting as well. There is also a toy soldier exhibit that is quite large. If you are here for the Durango Silverton Train, this is worth a visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeriLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Outstanding foliage and scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I am a railfan and have wanted to ride the D&SNG RR for many years. My travel mate is not into trains but she truely loves beautiful scenery,nature and flora. We traveled on 08-Oct-13 which is usually after the peak foliage but not this year. I blew the bank and got the last 2 seats on the Alamosa parlor car (there were only a dozen seats left of the entire train when I booked in late September). I could not have Planned better as I got the rear most seats, so we could look out of the rear window. The car was the last on the train and we could stand on the rear platform and enjoy the beautiful vistas. The 3 1/2 hour ride was filled with scenery that an Easterner could not dream of. Silverton is currently a tourist town and thus you get the tourist treatment, stores, restaurants and not much else. The ride back on the train was equally beautiful as you got the opposite view of the scenery and the afternoon sun. There was no canned PA tour guide but the hostess in our car (Sarah) not only provided the beverages but gave important information and "local knowledge" to enhance the journey. I will go again when the next time I am in Colorado.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing