We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great scenery on a train ride into the past”

Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$113.42*
and up
Bus to Silverton and Train to Durango Full Day Experience
Ranked #1 of 64 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop aboard a coal-fired, steam-powered locomotive that travels along the same railroad tracks that miners, cowboys and the early settlers of the Old West used over a hundred years ago. The route winds in and out of canyons and past open wilderness affording great views. The price of a ticket also includes admission to the D&SNGRR Museum and the Silverton Freight Yard Museum.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great scenery on a train ride into the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Once of the reasons I visited Durango was to take the train to Silverton. I was not disappointed. The Rio Grande car was great with comffortable seats. Try to sit on the right side when heading up to Silverton for the best views although it was easy to stand and see the sights. The train ride is a little long at 3.5 hours each way but the time past quickly with the great views. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The concessions car is limited but does have non alcoholic and alcoholic drinks along with a few snacks.

Tip: wear dark colored clothes or you will have to deal with dirt, dust and coal on your light colors!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Just_Got_Back_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,859
    753
    122
    41
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SAINT LOUIS
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun for anyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This scenic ride into the mountains was a fun experience for everyone on the train! There are closed and open cars, but the open are really better since you can see all around you. Try to get an open car towards the back so the ashes do not blow on you (but it was really not bad -- just a little gritty!)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DORIS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Museum visit was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We didn't ride the train yet but the museum was great and it was free too. Even the little kids enjoyed walking through and seeing the model trains.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank woody_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Most beautiful train ride in USA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We took the trip to the soaring over Colorado zip line adventure. Go on this trip if you can the sights of the river are beautiful!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, CO
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Everything we expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was a trip on the "bucket list"! We've always wanted to do this ~ and we did it! The experience was awesome! Everyone we came in contact with on and off the train was awesome! The staff was superb! From the first booking call to the very end, the staff was awesome!
We had a party of 10 people - 9 adults and a 7 year-old.
Definitely pay the $8 for the souvenir mug - you'll get your money back throughout the trip (both directions) with Free refills! We got way more than our $8 back!
Also, purchase the mile-by-mile souvenir book! There are lots of interesting facts along the way and it's so much fun to have that information too! I was surprised that this book was only $10! I expected it to be a bigger purchase but was pleasantly surprised!!
Overall awesome trip! Beautiful day and well worth the ticket price!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank momcheers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing