We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning scenery, Excellent experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum

Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$113.42*
and up
Bus to Silverton and Train to Durango Full Day Experience
Ranked #1 of 64 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop aboard a coal-fired, steam-powered locomotive that travels along the same railroad tracks that miners, cowboys and the early settlers of the Old West used over a hundred years ago. The route winds in and out of canyons and past open wilderness affording great views. The price of a ticket also includes admission to the D&SNGRR Museum and the Silverton Freight Yard Museum.
North Mankato
2 reviews
“Stunning scenery, Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The all-day train ride was spectacular! We rode the Knight Sky and the glass ceiling was great for photos and views. The service was GREAT (thanks to Ally!!) who kept our two children well supplied with lemonade! Very friendly staff all around, customer service appears to be highly valued. This is a must-do when visiting Durango.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,842
    748
    121
    41
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, WY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Everyone we encountered were so helpful and truly enjoyed their job and did everything possible to help you enjoy your excursion!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank azrealle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Steaming along”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a beautiful ride from Durango to Silverton along the Animas river. Parts of it make one wonder why the train doesn't fall into the canyon, parts make you wonder why the coal fired engine doesn't set the whole place afire, and parts are just sublime visual pleasures. We chose to pay the extra for the adults only Parlor Class "Alamosa" car.to avoid the children and rowdy crowd. It was a wise move mostly because of Ellie, a geologist from Alaska who was now the master of the car. What fun. She was filled with answers to our questions and questions for us. And, she made a good Bloody Mary to boot. The ride is worth doing. This was our second time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Durango Silverton Train Ride"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I did not got to the Museum, I only rode the train. The scenery is beautiful. We rode in the open Gondola. You will experience several temperature changes throughout the trip. Dress accordingly and you will get soot on you from the engine so don't wear a nice white outfit. I felt the trip made for a long day. If I was to ride again I would drive an hour north of town and get on at Rockwood and get back off at Rockwood or I would ride the train all the way from Durango to Silverton and ride the bus back to Durango. The first 30-40 minutes out of Durango is not that great of scenery but it is spectacular after the first 30 minutes. You will spend about 2 hours in Silverton which has a few restaurants and a lot of souvenir shops.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anytown, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This museum has a multitude of artifacts and photos, as well as actual train engines/cars. Also, admission is free (though we donated some money because we felt it was well worth paying to see)! From someone who doesn't have a lot of interest in railroads, I thought this was a really neat way to spend 30 minutes (or even just 10 minutes if you have it).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanicLostMyLuggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing