We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique eatery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HomeSlice Pizza

HomeSlice Pizza
Ranked #39 of 190 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Forged in the searing heat of the missionary ridge fire of 2002, Homeslice Pizza was the brainchild of Childhood prodigy pizza eater, and genius entrepreneur Cory Kitch, his world renown chef brother Gabe Kitch, and super model, financial sorceress and nutrition expert ( most supermodels are nutrition experts) Lynn Kitch. Fixated since childhood on solving the world's problems, Cory found himself at a crossroads in 2002. Which problem to tackle first; global warming, energy, the chronic poor decision making of Hollywood idols? No, He knew he needed to start BIG...REAL BIG. That's when it hit him... And starting with a monumental gesture he ended a war. A war that no one thought would ever end. No, not the middle east thingy. The battle over who had the best pizza; New York or Chicago. He figured that, like trickle-down economics, if this war (perhaps the greatest of our time) could come to a peaceful resolution, then the rest of the wars, squabbles, disagreements, and altercations would simply realize their triviality. This realization would then lead to less global conflict bringing with it a sharp decline in fossil fuel consumption, which in turn would decrease carbon emissions, simultaneously ending the energy crisis and global warming. As for the Hollywood idiots (oops, idols) he would have to solve that problem later.
Kenner
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The eatery had a unique ambiance built around a food truck for which you had to look close to realize that is where the kitchen was. You can buy the pizza by the slice or pan. Exceptional combinations made selection difficult. Go there on an empty stomach as you will leave full of great flavors.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    63
    21
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Pizza and better priced than the other 'New York Slice Joints'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The pizza is real good here and three slices will definitely fill you up for a lunch... It is right up on College Drive, so it is near downtown. I also like this place because it had reasonable pizza slice prices unlike the New York Slice place downtown on Main Ave. that charges 4$ for a slice! In NYC they don't even charge that much for a slice - and I am from NYC!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great pizza place near Fort Lewis College.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for an early dinner and the pizza was really good. Our group of 27 got out of there for less than $200 and we were all stuffed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shurls77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pizza is good, but expect a wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

As I've said in other restaurant reviews, every place that is good has a significant wait. Ugh.. not so great when you are hungry! The place is pretty small, but when you'll understand why when you get up to the counter window to order. It is a food truck stuck to the building. There is literally barely enough room for the girl taking the orders and the 2-3 guys making and cooking the pies behind her.

That said, they have some really unique flavors and it is really good food. It just took about 50 minutes to get it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place was recommended to us by our motel and it was very good. Its a small bar with a "pizza truck" in the back. You could order a whole pizza or just a slice. I had the margarita pizza and it was probably the best piece of pizza I have had in a long time. My boyfriend who is a very picky eater went back for another slice after he ate his. The staff there was very nice and the prices were very reasonable. I will definitely go back to eat there again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sannd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HomeSlice Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing