We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great outside evening experience!”

Guido's Pizza Pasta Panini
Ranked #57 of 192 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Durango's ONLY traditional Italian Trattoria. Our chefs travel to Italy each year to ensure our recipes are authentic. Award winning Wine List, Full Bar, and a dog friendly patio. A local favorite for over 14 years. After dining with us take home some European Groceries, Hand-Cut Cheeses and Meats from our gourmet store.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great outside evening experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a nice little Italian restaurant & market where you can buy prepared foods & dry goods to take home or enjoy a casual lunch/dinner in the restaurant or outside. It is located on the northern end of downtown Main street which is a little quieter during the busy summer season and has a nice front dining courtyard that is shaded by the building so no hot western sun.
We had a wonderful early dinner in the courtyard on Friday night & the staff was very accommodating throughout the entire meal. Many of the courtyard tables were reserved for later but they let us dine anyways. The menu offers a variety of northern & southern Italian foods and is not just the usual mainstream Italian, the mussels are popular and they serve sliced Italian bread with the meals. Great for a nice quiet, casual meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RockinRobin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    57
    20
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Because the employee who took our reservation made two mistakes--he booked us for a Sunday evening when the restaurant is normally closed and he did not take our phone number--the owner/chef Susan decided to honor our reservation. She opened the restaurant to our party of 5 and cooked us a fabulous Italian meal. Her daughter was our server and we had a wonderful evening. Our dinner--shrimp wrapped in bacon, caprese salad, rigatoni with Bolognese sauce, bucatini Amatriciana, rolled pork loin, turkey scallopine in mushroom sauce, a fabulous Chianti, and excellent coffee--was top notch from start to finish. We are locals and Guido's is by far the best Italian food in Durango and one of our two favorite restaurants in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JGN33397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian/Deli in Durango”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Delicious food in the restaurant (I suggest the turkey scallopine or rosa) and also an amazing European style deli/market. Guido's is a very traditional Italian restaurant, but you can find something for everyone on the menu. I highly suggest coming here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous and they have kid's menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great. We were disappointed when trip advisor never listed any Italian restaurant s.... don't miss this great restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sberkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food above average, atmosphere great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We ate hear after searching on tripadvisor and yelp for a recommendation for Italian food. Since the weather was outstanding we ate on their large open patio. We ordered two appetizers, the Fresh Castelvetrano Green Olives 1.95 (you get a very little ramakin bowl full) and Prosciutto in olive oil topped with artichokes. Both were delicious with a glass of wine. They have an hour long VERY limited Happy Hour with only one red and one white wine at a discount and a couple appetizers. For the main course we both ordered the Turkey Breast Scaloppine Topped with Mozzarella Cheese, Sautéed Button Mushrooms, Marsala Wine, Touch of Cream for $13.95. The mushrooms and Marsala sauce were yummy but the good sized portion of turkey breast was kind of tasteless and very tough around the outside edges. I really think if they would use a boneless, skinless chicken breast instead the dish would be much better. We did really enjoy the patio atmosphere and the help were all very nice. They have a little fresh deli and gelato bar inside the restaurant too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nhunteraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guido's Pizza Pasta Panini also viewed

 
Durango Mountain, Durango
 

Been to Guido's Pizza Pasta Panini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing