We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food mediocre service”

Guido's Pizza Pasta Panini
Ranked #60 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Durango's ONLY traditional Italian Trattoria. Our chefs travel to Italy each year to ensure our recipes are authentic. Award winning Wine List, Full Bar, and a dog friendly patio. A local favorite for over 14 years. After dining with us take home some European Groceries, Hand-Cut Cheeses and Meats from our gourmet store.
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food mediocre service”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

As the title says, the food is great but the service is always lacking. I eat here for lunch several times each summer and I don't think I have had good service once. The food is incredible and the outside patio is a great place for a meal just don't expect fast attentive service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 73-FJ40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    58
    20
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inconsistent and pricey. Average minus.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This used to be one of our favorite places. We are locals, and this was a "regular" place to go. But the prices keep going up, and what used to be a menu that slid from lunch into dinner has been replaced for dinner by a very pricey lineup that no longer includes sandwiches. The bread and olive oil were good, as was the $10 glass of wine. The salad was good, but the price has gone up. The entrees were very disappointing. The eggplant parmesan was bland and the skin was chewy and nearly inedible. The pasta was just so so. This is very sad. I hope that the management will read this negative review and bring back the price variety on the menu and go back to creating more delicate and flavorful entrees.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ksfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sometimes great, sometimes not so much”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've been here many times. It's hard to accurately rate this place as the service and the food are inconsistent.

First off, Guido's is both a take out deli as well as a restaurant. The deli has luscious Italian specialty foods. The variety is not extensive, but what the have is truly wonderful. Durango only has 12,000 people -- so the lack of variety is sort of understandable.

The restaurant has uneven service. I've been here with decent service, and I've been here waiting 45 minutes for a simple appetizer. The quality of the restaurant food is above average, though the portion size may be a bit less than the average fat American expects.

I would give the deli a 5 star rating, except their variety is a little lacking. So I'd give the deli alone a net 4 stars.

For their food the restaurant would get 4 stars. But they get dinged 1 star for slow service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mashuggi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Valentines dinner”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We--6 friends--all had a terrific dinner at Guido's on Valentines evening. The appetizer (prosciutto and artichoke hearts), pasta (cannelloni), and entree (duck breast) were fabulous...in particular, I loved the mushroom cannelloni and the duck breast with a grape and fig sauce. The red sauce with the cannelloni was perfect and the duck was cooked exactly right, rare but not under done, with a delicious sauce. In addition, the wine selection was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed both the whites and reds. Service was top notch. We live here in Durango and believe that Guido's is very much under rated here on tripadvisor. Guido's is the best Italian restaurant in town, and among our top 3 favorite restaurants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGN33397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fairly authentic Italian”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My favorite is the deli part of the restaurant. Pricey but excellent ingredients many imported, great Sheep cheese, olives, canned tomatoes, and real pasta. Wish they'd expand the store and decrease the prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raina726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guido's Pizza Pasta Panini also viewed

 

Been to Guido's Pizza Pasta Panini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing