We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A MUST when in Durango!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Belle Saloon

Diamond Belle Saloon
Ranked #6 of 183 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Take a Step Back in Time... the Diamond Belle Saloon takes you back to the late 1880s, saloon girls and bartenders dressed in period outfits. Live music every night of the week and live gunfights Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays during the summer months.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A MUST when in Durango!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have been customers of the Diamond Belle for many years. The cute costumed waitresses, the music, the decor, the beer, the food...what's not to like?
You have to be truly grouchy not to smile when you're at The Diamond Belle. We always take out-of-town guests and we always recommend the special Diamond Burger. Being somewhat experts on burgers, we declare these to be the best in town, and not much pricier than the average burger.
Negatives? Sometimes it's hard to get a table, sometimes the music is too loud to have a conversation. Sitting upstairs in the balcony is only ok if you sit at the railing so you can watch the action. Bottom line: you know you are in the West when you enter this saloon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 123456735805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    242
    68
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Jacob, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ok...but not impressed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This restaurant was inside the Strater Hotel. It felt like being in an old saloon with the waitresses dressed like saloon girls and the bartenders dressed as bar keeps. The decor was very much from an old saloon. Service was good and the food was ok but a little on the pricey side. The person at the visitor center who told us about this restaurant said they would have "old ragtime" music starting around supper. Unfortunately, it was not ragtime, but much more modern....a guy wearing a stocking cap sitting on a bar stool singing. Stocking cap and/or his songs were not fitting with the saloon image. Guess I expected something else.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Tw0s0me_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Live Honky Tonk in a Saloon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

You feel like you've stepped back in time to the ole Wild West. The waitresses are dressed in period costumes and the Honky Tonk piano player sings old period songs. It was a lot of fun! Oh yes, the food and spirits were good too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GallivantingGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger & Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were lucky as a singer like Willy Nelson was playing in the Saloon the night we were there. We both order their deluxe Hamburgers with fries and the best we have ever had. A bun that didn't fall apart and a 10 OZ burger of quality meat. The atmosphere can't be beat and all the cowboys with their beautiful hats. Definitely would go back to Durango and the Stater Hotel. Waitresses were also dressed to the theme of the old days.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenyagirl247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and value plus awsome entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went here with the wife while wandering around downtown, early on a monday evening and found this place. It is in Strater hotel along with another restuarant and tapas bar. All looked very intriguing but the Diamond Belle had live music so we checked it out. The service was great, as well as the ambiance (old western) waitresses had on cocktail dresses. The food was great I had the diamond burger which was made from steak scraps, and had hand cut fries served with it. They also had fresh roasted green chilies. My wife had the bbq bourbon salmon which was cooked perfectly, it melted in your mouth. Plus they carried local brews. The entertainment for the night was a one man band with just a guitar. He knew every song you could think of and played it right on the money. He was very animated and the restaurant crowd loved it. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Belle Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Belle Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing