We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Festive Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Belle Saloon

Diamond Belle Saloon
Ranked #7 of 183 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Take a Step Back in Time... the Diamond Belle Saloon takes you back to the late 1880s, saloon girls and bartenders dressed in period outfits. Live music every night of the week and live gunfights Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays during the summer months.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Festive Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food was decent but it was the atmosphere that was really neat. An authentic saloon with a live piano player, you feel like you just stepped into the past. A must stop in even for just a drink.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    241
    68
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Historic Atmosphere and Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I ate dinner at the Diamond Belle Saloon on August 7, 2013. After about a 45 minute wait, we were seated in the balcony area. The atmosphere of the saloon is fantastic as it dates back to the 19th century. The waitress was very friendly and provided excellent service. I had their signature burger and it was fantastic. During our dinner, the saloon was "robbed" by a couple of cowboys which led to a shootout with lawmen outside. My son loved it and was able to take a picture with the robbers and sheriff. If you are visiting Durango, I highly recommend the Diamond Belle Saloon because the food was satisfying and the atmosphere is very unique.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimMaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't miss the gun fight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Upon arriving in town, we stopped in the hotel's saloon. We were met with a outbreaking gun fight. Durango is keeping the Wild West alive. Our drinks were inexpensive, but we didn't eat while were there so cannot comment on the menu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ddp-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Burgers, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Diamond Belle is on the corner of the historic Strater Hotel. It is refurbished to look like the original saloon, with staff wearing historic costumes. Some may find that cheesy, however it doesn't try to be pretentious, serving "pub fare" type of burgers.

My son and I had their special burger ... it's so unique, the menu uses one full page just to describe this one burger. And it was great! It included pancetta, caramelized onions, port salut cheese, and garlic dijon aioli ... probably not one item of which was on the menu in 1881, but oh well. It overstuffed by teenage son (and me). Fortunately, vacation calories don't count.

One of the fun elements of the atmosphere was the live rag-time piano player. He didn't focus on 1800 songs, but played current tunes everyone recognizes in a rag-time style. On the night we were there, a guess joined in with him for an ad hoc two-man dueling-style set of four songs that brought the place alive. This ended only when the little faux gunfight between a sheriff and two outlaws pulled us out into the street for a little old-west fun.

Again, some might find this place cheesy, but any family should make it a priority to have a relaxed and very reasonable dinner here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eskot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shoot Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fun "old west" place for supper with the dance hall girl outfits, piano player, and desperado gunfight. Food was good and reasonably priced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug_K17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Belle Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Belle Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing