We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Rafting is a MUST for a Durango Summer Trip”

Durango Rafting Company
jpmomtravels
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“River Rafting is a MUST for a Durango Summer Trip”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our trip to Durango would not have been complete without a trip down the Animas. This is a very family-friendly activity that I highly recommend. Since we have young children we went with a rafting tour instead of the easy rent-a-tube vendors that our friends with older children used. The Durango Rafting Company wasn't the most professional company but it was a good price with friendly guides. Children 8 and under are free (that is what made us choose them). They sell you a CD with your rafting pictures on it at the end of the trip for $20.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmomtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    10
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Beautiful Day with Jamie”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Caring, safe and fun great all around trip! I have gone on three different rafting trips and find this company to offer the most. Great setup, provided everything we needed, great staff and beautiful scenery. I have gone on three other company raft trips and find Durango Rafting Company to be the BEST! PS Im also a local Durangoan...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Animas River Run--Once but not ever again.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The river rafting company could have been more honest with us. The water was I guess pretty low or lower than they had told us at their registration desk and there really was no real "white" water. There were a few fun spots where we splashed each other with our paddles and could jump out of the raft on to the other rafts that we rented, but overall it was slow and not a lot of rapids to speak of. It was fun because we made it fun. I had a lot of my family with children on this trip with cousins and some Aunts and Uncles. It was part of our family reunion activities. The water was a little cold but felt good in the warm sun when it was out at times. It was disappointing because their hype of the river did not meet our expectations. We are glad that we did it (running the river) but we would not do it again! The staff just wanted to sell rafts and would probably say and do anything to make their quota or goal of sales or something. I am being generous of giving then a 3 out of 5 marks. River too calm for what we wanted or anticipated.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RooneAlredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun Trip”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We traveled to Durnago with our kids, ages 12 and 8 and really enjoyed our trip. The water level was low which meant catching many rocks on the lower Animas but we still had fun. Consider renting the duckies, which are the inflatable kayaks. The kids learned to manuever them pretty quickly. My 8 year old was a little neverous at first and I really appreciated how patient our guide was. This is definitely something to try if you have never rafted before.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Beds
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Let us down after booking - appalling customer service”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked on the internet via their booking system and although end of season, they were still booking for sept and we received email confirmation. Duly turned up at their office for booked rafting trip, but it was all closed. Eventually got hold of someone on the phone who was unapologetic and didnt seem to care that they were not honoring a confirmed internet booking. We only have 2 weeks vacation in the usa and had a wasted morning because of this company. We manged to get a rafting trip in the afternoon with mild to wild instead, who were fab.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cagsinbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Durango Rafting Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing