We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're in a hurry or on a budget, this is the place to go”
Review of Zia Taqueria

Zia Taqueria
Ranked #12 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: We believe in simple, tasteful, authentic food with an atmosphere and price that feels good, warms the soul, and reminds you that some of the better things in life are quite simple.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“If you're in a hurry or on a budget, this is the place to go”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Our son dragged us here while on a visit, and we are so glad he did. Sort of a cafeteria-style build your own Mexican food restaurant, it's informal and laid back. But, man, the food was fresh, tasted great, and there's absolutely nothing to complain about and everything to rave about.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    99
    21
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“"local" version of Chipotle but way better”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Awesome food, simple order-line situation. GREAT food! Went to the n.Durango store. Apparently, Zia uses local and natural resources for their menu - it all tastes great!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene
Level Contributor
109 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First-time visit”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Before walking in the door, I was expecting a sit-down, casual restaurant, but the model here is Chipotle Mexican Grill where you move through a line and tell the staff how to construct your taco or burrito. The food quality is excellent and the staff is friendly, alert, helpful and quick. I wanted beef crispy tacos with a side of rice and beans, but they are used to combining everything, so the beans and rice ended up in the taco before I could say anything. Nevertheless, this is good food reasonably priced. Seating area is small and, if they are busy, you may have a problem finding a seat. I would like a wider choice of beers, but $2 for a Tecate is probably equal to a Corona at $4, depending on your beer bias.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreywolfAbilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wish we had Zia Taqueria in Ohio”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Fast Food Mexican that tastes better then most expensive Mexican restaurants. I was on vacation in the Durango area and stumbled upon Zia. I sure wish we had Zia's in Ohio. I would eat there once a week.
There were too many choices to list in this review. What I can tell you, if you like Mexican food, then give Zia a chance. They have anything you would want in a burrito or in a bowl or in a taco shell. The chips and guacamole were excellent as well. I recommend Zia to all Mexican Food Lovers.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LFSAHWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Super yummy!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Was looking for a quick bit to eat along with a drink. Loved the food here. The margaritas were tasty too! Lots of choices to pick from. Can't wait to go back and try some different.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dmcinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zia Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing