We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love.”
Review of Zia Taqueria

Zia Taqueria
Ranked #13 of 195 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: We believe in simple, tasteful, authentic food with an atmosphere and price that feels good, warms the soul, and reminds you that some of the better things in life are quite simple.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visit every time we are in town. Love this place. Burritos are amazing, and the kids love it too. Nice to see they have a southside location as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fria2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    105
    22
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Red Mesa, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of my best meals EVER!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have only eaten here once, but on the way home I kept saying that it was the best meal I have had in a long time. The tortillas (I had corn) were light and tasty and durable. My taco ingredients didn't start leaking out the middle. I had a squash/corn combination, beans (all are vegetarian here) lettuce, tomato, pico de gallo and cheese. It was all so fresh and tasty I wanted to go back the next day!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PixyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“took the whole clan for lunch”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we took three families in for lunch and things went pretty well. besides all the kids milling about (ours!) instead of eating, it was a nice place with unique atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeffNieusma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Find myself wishing for it”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We used to live in Durango, and just the other day my kids and I were wishing there was a place like Zia Tacqueria in California (oh, they try here, but it's not the same). The food is fresh, the atmosphere is friendly, and it's always busy with lots of happy customers. Great options for making a meal exactly the way you want it. If you've never been, think Chipotle but with personality and MUCH better eats.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelincalifmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, supports local organic farms, great for families”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Zia Taqueria has good food, lots of options, reasonably priced, is quick, and great for families. The owner also supports local organic agriculture and supplies as much as possible locally (beans from Dove Creek, greens grown in Durango). Only down side is that it is so popular that it is busy during lunch and dinner rushes, and therefore loud. This place is great if you need a relatively quick meal and want a lively place to be. Zia South has outdoor seating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank durangomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zia Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing