We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Camping”
Review of Durango KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Camping”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We make the trip up to Durango from Santa Fe two or three times a year, and when pulling our small camper with our motorcycle, we'll stay at the Durango KOA. We've always found it comfortable and clean.

The campground is a little ways out of town, so expect a 10 minute drive to groceries and necessities, and 20 minutes to downtown. Though, compared to some other places we've been, this separation improves security and cuts down on noise and busyness.

The spots are closer together than optimal, but not aggressively so. The camp is well-treed in some areas, so you get a modicum of privacy. We've not found the campground overly noisy, and it is away from the highway enough to keep the traffic noise to a minimum.

For campground camping, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Durango KOA.

Room Tip: Reserve early and request a spot back in the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tradr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    30
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
70
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Host upgraded us to the Studio cabin which we didn't expect but was very nice and loaded with amenities. Shower, bath, frig, beds and furniture! This is a very nice place and very friendly people.
The next morning we woke up to hot coffee and a beautiful view of the San Juan mountains after a snow fall the previous night.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a map of the kamp ground! There isn't a fitness center or swimming pool but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJohn092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi,Tx
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

First of all, I have to say that I loved staying here. We stayed in a beautiful cabin with bathroom and absolutely adored it. It was very clean and nice. I would go back again for sure. The cabin was off the road and very quiet. I could see some of the tent sites as we walked around the campgrounds and could tell that those could have some noise issues. The reason for coming here is to get away from it all, so I don't want to complain about the internet too much. But it was very bad and I only could use it once during a night stay. Please KOA , try to get a better provider. I would give it a five star rating had it not been for that.

Room Tip: ask for sites away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Blondie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickasha, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for only one night in a 30 foot RV. We arrived at the campground right as it was starting to get dark and left out about 7 am to ride the train. Dan (i believe this was the gentleman's name in the office) was gracious enough to put our reservation down when I spoke to him over the phone, as we were still an hour or so away and let us pay when we arrived. We weren't here long but it did look very well kept and like it had alot of amenities. The campground did have alot of trees, which was very nice, but seemed to have some tight turns and tight spaces. We did also notice that they had cabins you could rent. We did enjoy taking pictures of the very large pumpkins that they had growing in their garden near the front office. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Biggest complaint was the internet. You have to log in again every few minutes. It was quite annoying. The laundry rooms are quite small for the number of spaces they have. We stayed in mid-September and it was still difficult to get a washing machine. Of course, one lady had 6 loads.... We were not bothered by the road noise. We were in the "200" block and it would have been nice to have had bathrooms and laundry down in that area. They have quite a few dog areas which are fenced. I think one of our dogs kept eating something in the dog area, as he would throw up every time we returned to our RV. We never did catch him, so we can't be sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Sundancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spend almost two weeks at this campground in late July. Learned about square foot gardening, enjoyed fresh baked pizza and pies several times during our stay. Great place for children with movies every night. Continual breakfast every morning.Helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wonderful staff, clean facilities, and activities for kids with pool, movies every night, scavenger hunts, etc. Only complaint is the road noise and scenery - noise is loud and scenery minimal. s Kids loved it though as there were always other kids to play with and things to do. Had a basic cabin which was fine for one adult and two kids. Really impressive staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durango
11.3 mi away
Sky Ute Casino Resort
Sky Ute Casino Resort
#1 of 1 in Ignacio
200 reviews
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
469 reviews
6.4 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
243 reviews
7.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango KOA

Property: Durango KOA
Address: 30090 Highway 160, Durango, CO 81303-6875
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to downtown Durango! Our KOA Campground is only 7 miles east of the Durango Silverton Train Depot. Not only do we have long RV sites with all the bells & whistles, we have rooms with a view. Our Lodging facilities range from just sleeping cabins, to units with kitchens & bathrooms. All our cabins have A/C, heat and are non smoking. Rent linens or bring your own. The heated pool will entertain your kids, along with mini golf and movies. Summer months the yellow KOA caboose serves great buttermilk pancakes and every evening fresh made pizza delivered right to your site. Even your pooch will love us. Choose from two dog parks. One for the little guys & another for the ball catchers. Wifi is free throughout the campground. Book your reservation today by visiting us on line. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing