We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy dusty and expensive!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Durango KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Noisy dusty and expensive!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at Koa's all across the US and this was one of the worst. Tent sites are tiny and very noisy, not to mention way overpriced! I would advise to go somewhere else. Says they were 2012 award winner but don't be fooled. People were friendly but location is AWEFUL!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjeltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
62
25
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My family of three recently stayed in one of the 'deluxe cabins' at the Durango, CO KOA. It was clean and well kept. The entire campground reflected the same thing, a very well kept campground. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. There was easy access to local activities including: rafting the Animas River, horseback riding and shopping in the beautiful downtown Durango. I would highly recommend for camping of all types; tent, cabin or RV/trailer.
We would stay there again, no questions, There are daily events, breakfast and pizza are a plus!
Movies every night for the kids and a great gift/snack shoppe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent just one night here, on our way back to San Antonio. The staff showed us where our site was, we ordered a pizza, which they make on site, and got it delivered. NICE. They have a nice pool and open space to take a walk. There was a huge wildfire in Durango that day, started by lightening (same storm we experienced in Animas Forks that day). The entire mountain behind the Home Depot was on fire. We could see it safely from the KOA. It was out by morning. I really like to see owners who put their heart into their camp. There is a great little garden just outside of the showers. If you have to stand and wait for someone, why not check out what is growing while you wait. They are also a very green camp with recycling containers available. We bought a cool tie dye t shirt in their store and made a road trip shirt with it, writing all the KOAs we had been to on the trip. He still wears that shirt. Nice place, easy access, easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Campermom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lots of friendly workers, very clean, great amenities--the kids loved it! Surprising amount of shade makes it feel spread out even though it is a bit crowded. Can hear the highway noise but actually makes it a bit easier to sleep. We loved and will definitely stay there when in Durango again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkm615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, NM
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed in a cabin for almost a week while relocating to Durango. The campground was just opening for the season but Carol and her crew were very welcoming to my wife and I. We would be sure to stay there again on our next trip. The cabins are very nice and a lot cheaper then staying at a motel. Especially in the Durango area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecker1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here one night in "camping cabin" and found it very enjoyable. Little creek running by the cabin was great, pancakes in the morning were great, owner and staff very friendly. Nice pool and beautiful sunset from pool. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a well maintained campground with a friendly staff. All the advertised services were there and worked well including wi-fi and cable TV hookups. The campground is clean and the restrooms and showers are also very clean and well maintained. There's a small store on site and other services in town are very close by. There's free coffee in the morning for early risers. There is an enclosed dog exercise area on site. Although the park was just about full during our visit we found it to be a quiet stay. The park roads are very easy to negotiate and a staff member took the time to escort us to our site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdsaundrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
5.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
5.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango KOA

Property: Durango KOA
Address: 30090 Highway 160, Durango, CO 81303-6875
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to downtown Durango! Our KOA Campground is only 7 miles east of the Durango Silverton Train Depot. Not only do we have long RV sites with all the bells & whistles, we have rooms with a view. Our Lodging facilities range from just sleeping cabins, to units with kitchens & bathrooms. All our cabins have A/C, heat and are non smoking. Rent linens or bring your own. The heated pool will entertain your kids, along with mini golf and movies. Summer months the yellow KOA caboose serves great buttermilk pancakes and every evening fresh made pizza delivered right to your site. Even your pooch will love us. Choose from two dog parks. One for the little guys & another for the ball catchers. Wifi is free throughout the campground. Book your reservation today by visiting us on line. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing