We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Purgatory Lodge at Purgatory Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Triangle Motel(Silverton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prospector Motel(Silverton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teller House(Silverton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
71
21
12
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
21
12
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski lockersreservation agentfoosball tableslope sidefamily ski triphot tubbath condomurphy beddurango mountainhotel roomoutdoor activitiesfitness centerpurgatorysnowskiinglodginghumidifier
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 116 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at the purgatory with out grand daughter and had a wonderful time. We stayed in Apartment 511 which was beautifully furnished, had a wonderful view of the ski lift area. the balcony was big and could be accessed from the bedroom as well. The bathroom was impeccable. I brought my own hair dryer and promptly forgot it. But that's my own fault and I hope the next visitor will enjoy it. They do have hair dryers, you just have to ask for it.
Would I go again? absolutely !
Don't miss the train to Silverton, that's an absolute must.. Hubby and grand daughter took a jeep ride to the mountains and had a wonderful time. Hurrican Pass was at 12,730 ft. oh and Mesa Verde is not far, don't miss it. it is amazing.

Room Tip: we had Apartment 511, it was spacious, 2 bedrooms, living room and kitchen.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We just returned from a 4 day stay at the Purgatory Lodge north of Durango. We had a large party of 14 and were easily able to accomodate them in 2 4 andb 3 bedroom condos. The condos were really spacious, modern, had nice kitchens and a large open area. Bedrooms were spacious, TV/flat screen was nice, good wifi access. Can't find anything bad at all to say and highly recommend it. The rooms and the lodge were really top notch

A couple side notes-- we didn't try Purgy's- the restaurant there, but my parents did and although the food was good- they found service quite slow the first time they ate there, but fine the second time they went there

Our kids loved the zipline/alpine slide setup located right at the resort-- it also had a bungee trampoline, climbing wall and a few other activities- you could get either a half day (we did) or full day pass to it

Only potential negative to Purgatory Lodge is it is not actually in Durango, but about 25 miles north of the city. There is a restaurant (Purgy's) on site, a deli which has some sundries, several restaurants nearby (I would definitely recommend the Sow's Ear), but for groceries and additional dining and other options you need to go into Durango 30 min south or Silverton 30 min north.

Overall- great experience

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAWChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Nice ski-in ski-out location with a reasonable price. Restrauant selection limited but adequate.

Skiing was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed in mid DEC 2011 even though there was not alot of snow, the visit was fab! The staff great and very willing to help in any way. We had a condo that was amazing. Will go back and stay next year with brother & sister in law again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This place is amazing! I highly recommend this place to anyone. The rooms were spacious, clean, and above average. It was worth the stay here. I even forgot my camera and the hotel staff were courteous and fast to help me resolve the problem. Overall this place is an amazing place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekebil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews