We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”
Review of O-Bar-O Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
O-Bar-O Cabins
Ranked #2 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vacation”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Best place in the world to stay. Mike and Maria make everything perfect. This was our 3rd year to stay at the O-Bar-O the cabins are perfect the views are gorgeous. Close to town but out far enough to enjoy the beauty of the mountains.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
159
236
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Everything was perfect. This place is rustic but so very classy with a personal touch. We stayed in Creekside and it was so cozy. The view from the cabin was beautiful. And I have never enjoyed a hot tub so much - during the day and under the stars at night! I am so glad that we picked O-Bar-O for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKGaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The setting was beautiful, the cabins extremely clean and decorated with many fine touches. Maria and Mike where that most awesome hosts I have ever had. They went over and above their required duties as owners/hosts. I am very grateful for their helping hands when my 84yo father got sick, requiring an ambulance and their ever loving concern for him and our family during our stay there!!! My daughter's boyfriend catch a fish in the beautiful flowing stream outside the cabins (his first on a fly rod, with the assistance of Mike's lesson on fly fishing and the use of the facilities gear). The hot tub was so comforting after an extremely long day at my son's wedding in the mountains.

Fabulous stay!! Highly recommend this place and would go back again and again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhanna2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in Durango, after 25 years we decided to return. I was looking for a peaceful, cozy retreat and yet easy access for us to enjoy some southwestern road bicycling. After several searches on-line I came across the O-Bar-O Cabins.... Wow, it was just how we imagined our vacation would be. Beautiful, cozy, well appointed cabin on a beautiful river valley setting. Everything was just as promised, and Maria and Mike make sure you have everything you need and are helpful with any question you may have. Aside from great cycling we came home to our cabin each day to relaxing and walking by the river, peaceful quiet, and hot tubing each night by the river while taking in the stars. The well appointed kitchens make it easy to create your own cuisine if so wish which we took advantage of. You simply just cannot go wrong with a stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Birdsnest" which was a perfect mountain hideaway for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I hadn't visited Durango in many years. After considerable time searching online for appropriate lodging in Durango, we found the O-Bar-O cabins. And, what a fortunate "find" for us that there was one available cabin during the timeframe we needed it. The cabin and grounds far exceeded our expectations! The cabin was first-class. The setting was idyllic. We enjoyed wine on the river every afternoon we were there. One of our first visitors after arrival was a very friendly cat. The cat seemed to like me. Its relaxed attitude and friendliness seemed to be a metaphor for O-Bar-O: very relaxing and friendly. Its a terrific place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Saline, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

One of the best vacation trips I've ever spent. Instead of traveling 17 hours by car we flew in, in two hours, and went straight to the O-Bar-O Cabins from the airport. Immediately enjoying the river, the Cabins, the fishing & hiking. It was wonderful and so relaxing !! The hosts, Mike & Maria, were like loving parents; graciously & unselfishly seeing to any needs we might have. Be sure to never miss the outdoor fireside chats with friends and travelers. And thank you again Mike, for the fly fishing tips ..... and tippet. It worked !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSteger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My parents and I stayed in the Ponderosa cabin for 5 very comfortable nights, and it was just perfect for us with 2 private bedrooms. The cabin was spotless, the furnishings were high quality, and the cabin had every amenity you could want or need. The spacious kitchen and dining area overlooking the river was very nice. Mike and Maria were super hosts. Mike helped my dad and I get oriented to local trout fishing, and Maria made sure every other aspect of our stay was wonderful. I honestly cannot think of anything I would change. Although I didn't have a dog on this trip, it's especially nice that they welcome guests with well-behaved dogs since it's often hard to find accommodations of this quality that also allow pets. The cabin location was far enough away from town to enjoy peaceful seclusion in a country setting, but close (20 minutes) & easy to get to downtown Durango for shopping, etc. I would definitely recommend O Bar O and come back again.

Room Tip: Ponderosa cabin is great if you want added privacy. Located at end of the property with 2 private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
20.8 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
9.8 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
243 reviews
11.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
11.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
469 reviews
22.5 mi away
Blue Lake Ranch
Blue Lake Ranch
#4 of 12 in Durango
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O-Bar-O Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O-Bar-O Cabins

Property: O-Bar-O Cabins
Address: 11998 County Road 240, Florida Road, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic cabins under the clear Colorado sky. Deer and elk roaming through nearby alpine meadows. Tall pine trees stretching to the horizon. Cool mountain streams bubbling with trout. The O-BAR-O Cabins, situated on the Florida River, has all of this and more. Located just outside Durango, we're a stone's throw from the national forest, two large lakes, and horse trail rides. Plus we have the best trout fishing you'll find in these parts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
o-Bar-o Cabins Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing