We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Peace in Durango"”
Review of O-Bar-O Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
O-Bar-O Cabins
Ranked #2 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Peace in Durango"”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at the stand-alone "Ponderosa" cabin on our recent 3-day Durango vacation this past August. The Ponderosa is the most "rustic" of the cabins at O-Bar-O, but everything was very clean and comfortable, and the cabin provided the nice quiet setting we desired. In addition, our hosts (Mike and Maria) could not have been more friendly or accomodating. We would definitely stay at the cabins again in the future, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Durango area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alloyd5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
159
236
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I chose the O-Bar-O to house 22 guests for my daughter's wedding, which took place on Saturday, August 10, 2013. The cabins are 1 mile from our home, and 3 miles from the wedding venue, so extremely convenient. I wanted our guests, the majority from Texas and Oklahoma, to enjoy having the river at their back door. What our guests and my family received was that, and much more. A storm hit right before the wedding. I had sent a shuttle for our guests, and Maria very kindly found an umbrella and escorted our guests in the pouring rain to the shuttle. My father-in-law is still singing her praises. Thank you, Maria, Mike and Susan, for not only welcoming our crew, but for going above and beyond to make sure they were happy, comfortable and DRY.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just returned from one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. Mike and Maria have a wonderful place. The cabins are clean, comfortable and have everything you need to make your stay wonderful. Our family can not wait to get back to the cozy cabins and enjoy them and the river next year. Mike and Maria do an outstanding job making O-Bar-O feel like home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planok67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic 2 night stay at O-Bar-O cabins in Durango in August!! We'll definitely be visiting with them again. Mike and Maria are fantastic hosts, the grounds and nearby Florida river were beautiful, and the cabins were extremely clean, well outfited and comfortable! Mike and Maria did a wonderful job of making us feel special from the moment we walked into the office at check-in until we left two days later. The suggestions Maria made about local mountain bike rentals, visiting Mesa Verde, grocery store locations, and other activities were much appreciated and really added to the enjoyment of our time in Durango! We both strongly recommend O-Bar-O for anyone visiting this corner of Colorado....an amazing stay all around.

Room Tip: Please book well in advance as this is a popular destination
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A truly wonderful place, with a charming couple, Maria and Mike, who run it with a great sense of hospitality. The cabins are beautifully decorated, the site on the river is absolutely gorgeous, the deck with the BBQ perfect for a longer stay. Our kids (10 and 14) felt immediately at home, and so did we. The cabins are close to Durango, a 15 min drive. We will definitely come back, even if it is a long trip from Europe. Thomas H. and family

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunkis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time at O Bar O. The cabins were lovely and the owners went above and beyond to make us comfortable. It was so nice to relax by the river after a long day of visiting the local area - we are ready to go back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our family stayed for four nights and loved the atmosphere and setting. Our two children (13 and 11) loved being by the river. There was so much space for the kids to run around! You can fly fish and have a campfire in the fire pit. The innkeepers cats were so friendly :-0. Our cabin was comfortable and well appointed. We'd recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4LovetoRoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
20.8 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
9.8 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
242 reviews
11.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
11.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
469 reviews
22.5 mi away
Blue Lake Ranch
Blue Lake Ranch
#4 of 12 in Durango
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O-Bar-O Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O-Bar-O Cabins

Property: O-Bar-O Cabins
Address: 11998 County Road 240, Florida Road, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic cabins under the clear Colorado sky. Deer and elk roaming through nearby alpine meadows. Tall pine trees stretching to the horizon. Cool mountain streams bubbling with trout. The O-BAR-O Cabins, situated on the Florida River, has all of this and more. Located just outside Durango, we're a stone's throw from the national forest, two large lakes, and horse trail rides. Plus we have the best trout fishing you'll find in these parts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
o-Bar-o Cabins Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing