We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colorado Splendor at O-Bar-O Cabins”
Review of O-Bar-O Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
O-Bar-O Cabins
Ranked #2 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Colorado Splendor at O-Bar-O Cabins”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

O-Bar-O Cabins is a truly unique and delightful experience! Maria, Mike, and Susan have made sure that every cabin receives the same level of attention. From the comfort of the beds and linens, to the thoughtful selection of kitchen wares, to the cleanliness of the cabins, every single detail is evident in their efforts to make your stay memorable at this beautiful property.

We have been staying at O-Bar-O for three years, and have every time we return, we see improvements. We will continue to stay at O-Bar-O Cabins every time we return to Durango.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad cabin on the property, but the Creekside is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
152
232
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I don't think I've ever had such a pleasant experience traveling. First of all, Maria is an absolute doll who treats you like you are in her close circle of friends. Secondly, your pets are treated like people and they may not want to come home. Thirdly, there's not a thing that they haven't thought of and provided in your cabin...which is elegant and clean and well equipped. Want to barbeque..? Not a problem given the clean grills right out your back door! Need to wipe the dew off your motorcycle? Not a problem, given the special towels provided for that purpose! Need to walk your dog? Not a problem, given the fenced in yard that will give them the opportunity to run around. Want to use the spa? There's a plush robe in your closet in case you didn't bring your suit. A little cool...push a button and your gas stove heats the cabin up in a cozy way A little hot...there's a high efficiency fan in the closet and a ceiling fan that will do the trick.! Shampoo, conditioner, body lotion...gorgeous stuff provided in each cabin!! Forgot your broccoli...Maria will offer you the veggies off her own plate. I have never stayed anywhere where you receive a "thank you" from the management for staying in their establishment...got a nice follow-up thanks from O-Bar-O after our stay. Beautiful scenery in every direction These folks are amazing and you feel...special...and this may be he closest thing you'll find to heaven on earth!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were back for our second year in a row! I'm picky on where I stay, so if I return, you know it's an extra nice accommodation!! The hosts, Mike & Maria, are the best, too! Super, down-to-earth people! The river is right at your doorstep with plenty of fish. The best bed you'll ever sleep on, too! We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We so enjoyed the stay at O-Bar-O Cabins ...everythings was perfect ...Highly recommend the stock the fridge ...cuts of meat were so tender and the fresh veggies o yes the brownies and ice cream were to die for... bye the camp fire at night. They have thought of everything to make your stay a true Colorado experience.. Lori

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljh3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Highly, highly recommend O-Bar-O Cabins. They are the most charming cabins with every single detail thought out. The location is perfect as it is close enough to downtown Durango to take advantage of the great bars, restaurants, and shops but far enough away to feel like you are truly in the mountains. The river is literally right outside your door and we fly fished all day while we were there. The pictures on the website are a true representation of how beautifully decorated the cabins are as well as how clean. All the appliances appeared brand new, kitchenware was top notch, and everything else was top notch - even down to the blanket that hangs by the door for hanging out on the back porch on a chilly evening to the extremely comfortable robes that work perfect for a chilly morning on the back porch with a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellinwood
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much, a quiet peaceful place to relax. The Florida River flowing just feet from the cabin deck. The cool morning to sit on the deck with a hot cup of tea and watch the wild turkeys strool by the river or the ducks swimming on the river. Our cabin was delightful with such charm. Thanks Mike & Maria for a great getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family and I cannot say enough good things about our stay. The cabins were beautiful. It was easy to feel as if we were in a home away from home. It was so relaxing to sit by the river and watch the kids fly fish. The location was close enough to Durango to enjoy tourist attractions and still far enough away to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. Mike and Maria were available any time to accomodate our needs. Our family cannot wait to make a return visit!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
11.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
452 reviews
20.8 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
9.8 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
11.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,020 reviews
8.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O-Bar-O Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O-Bar-O Cabins

Property: O-Bar-O Cabins
Address: 11998 County Road 240, Florida Road, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic cabins under the clear Colorado sky. Deer and elk roaming through nearby alpine meadows. Tall pine trees stretching to the horizon. Cool mountain streams bubbling with trout. The O-BAR-O Cabins, situated on the Florida River, has all of this and more. Located just outside Durango, we're a stone's throw from the national forest, two large lakes, and horse trail rides. Plus we have the best trout fishing you'll find in these parts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
o-Bar-o Cabins Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing