We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Tours
from $97.37
More Info
from $65.27
More Info
from $43.87
More Info
from $324.95
More Info
Reviews (1,734)
Filter reviews
1,731 results
Traveler rating
1,549
125
27
13
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,549
125
27
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lower animas jeep tour the river san miguel ghost town wet suits day trip great guide economy trip la plata canyon water level white water rafting great rafting trip a lot of fun highly recommend this company off road class rapids
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,731 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a very enjoyable float trip. We didn't encounter much white water or Rapids that were hard to navigate. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Great trip for first time floaters.

Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So glad you shared your experience on our mild raft trip on the Colorado River - Castle Valley, and you enjoyed your guide. For more excitement, we have many more options including Cataract Canyon on the Colorado River. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I booked the Silverton Jeep tour and the Durango train ride and had an awesome day out. Our guide Jay was very informative and filled us in on the history of Durango as well as sharing interesting tidbits on the local environment. The jeep tour was a blast as you go up small county roads past old mining ghost towns. We visited in October and there was a decent amount of snow on the ground. Jay provided blankets and windbreakers but having many layers of clothes is highly recommended! After the jeep tour we had time for a leisurely lunch in Silverton and some quick shopping before hopping on the train. We sat on the left side and had a fantastic view of the river and mountain passes on the way back to Durango. The views were spectacular and while it was a long day out it was thoroughly enjoyable and a highlight on our Durango trip. Going with Mild to Wild was great - they answered all my questions beforehand, communicated with me over phone and email and Jay as our guide was a lot of fun. Highly recommended!

Thank dcdeportesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

As part of our vacation we booked an all day tour in the Mesa Verde Park. Honestly I was unsure about all day! However We are so glad we did this! Miles our guide was so laid back and shared a wealth of information during the trip. Lunch was delicious. Part of this trip is a guided tour by a Ranger who took us up 32 feet on a ladder right into one of the historic pueblos that were used by our American Indians hundreds of years ago. Then the last leg was 2 15 ft ladders to get back! WOW. We really challenged ourselves but so worth it!

Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

Kellie was our guide and had great information to share and was very friendly with everyone. We had a great group of people to travel with which helped to make it a great day.

Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

So glad you found our guided, interpretive tour of Mesa Verde National Park to be interesting and informative! And glad you enjoyed Kellie and our other guests. Thanks for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

I had wanted to see Mesa Verde National Park for a long time, so I made this trip to Durango. A guided tour was better than going there alone. So I decided on Mild to wild tours. Everyone was very friendly. The guide Jay was very helpful and funny, The lunch at the picnic table was good. The 'adventure' part was in the Cliff palace where we had to climb three ladders to come out of the 'palace'. Very interesting archeological finds. The Spruce tree house was closed so we had to see it from the overlook. Still it was a very good trip.

Thank Vasanti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Glad you enjoyed our Mesa Verde National Park tour after waiting so long to visit the park. It is a huge park so a guide is very helpful in getting the most out of the park in just one day. Thanks for choosing Mild to Wild. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Great full day Mesa Verde tour. Kellie was our tour guide and she was very knowledgeable and friendly, she was an excellent tour guide. We learned considerably more about the Mesa Verde then we would if we had toured on our own. The van was very clean and the lunch was excellent. Mesa Verde itself is an amazing site and I would recommend this tour for just about anyone. You do have to be able to go down steep steps and climb out by ladder. All in all, great adventure for us. We will book other tours through Mild to Wild tours next time we are in the area.

Thank LindaFBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

So happy you had a great experience on our Mesa Verde tour, and found Kellie to be an excellent tour guide. And, thanks for choosing Mild to Wild for your future tours. We can't wait!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Our trip started early in the morning in a modified truck that could seat up to 12 passengers. Three rows with four butts per row. We were 9 so seated 3x3 and that was fairly comfortable.

We were taken by Jerry, our guide & driver, up a forestry road almost to Kennebec Pass at the top. The trip starts on black-top and then transitions fairly quickly to a dirt road. By the time you're reached the top, you've transitioned to a road that requires a high-clearance vehicle due to the rocks & bumps. We returned by the same path which is kinda a bummer but I'm sure they don't have all day to do giant loops.

Jerry stopped at various places along the way on both the way up and back and would tell us about the area and its history. He was the right balance of fun & informative. No complaints there.

If you have back or spine problems, I'd recommend against this trip - it's fairly jouncy. That's part of the fun, of course, if you're back is fine and why, in part, you buy into a trip like this.

All in all, a quite fun trip. Note: we did this activity as part of the jeep & raft combo package and returned in time to raft in the afternoon. I'll review that separately but I will suggest that if you do both activities that the transition time is minimal. Pack some snacks or a quick lunch and plan to change into rafting clothing at the facility (there's changing rooms for this).

Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Thanks for your description of our Rivers and Trails trip (1/2 day raft, and 1/2 day jeep tour). The jeep tour is quite bumpy on these un-maintained, old mining roads so it is not recommended for those with back problems. Some of our other tours, do offer more of a loop, but this tour does not as you mentioned. There is generally 1-1.5 hours between the two trips. We do have a picnic area for those that bring their own lunch, or some quick restaurants close by to pick up a bite. Thanks so much for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

We were extremely lucky to get Jay take us on a full day tour of Mesa Verde and the surrounds. We ended up in a van by ourselves (there were 7 of us in the family - from aged 7 to 70) due to a bit of a mix up with meeting spot but that turned out to our good luck.

So Jay started asking questions about us immediately and made us feel welcome. If you are going to be in the car all day with someone who is your tour guide, you want them to tell you not just the general information but things tailored to your diverse interests that engaged the adults and the teens and little ones. Jay was great at personalizing the tour, filling it with his personal stories, adapting to the smoky winds (couple of us had breathing issues with the wildfire smoke) and generally being funny and a joy to deal with. The drive is beautiful with astonishing rock formations along the way and he took us to a few off the beaten track walks, where the kids found antique pottery. The tour of Mesa Verda was done by the park ranger and it was incredible. The walk down is steep, narrow but manageable unless you are super unfit. Although it is high up, it doesn't feel like it. You get to see and touch (a tiny bit ) of history. We could have driven up on our own but I have to say that having Jay take us allowed us to see everything, enjoy a catered lunch, and hear more about the history of the area than if we had gone on our own. Lastly, it is hardish driving - just lots of bends and altitude so it is nice to be a passenger.

1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

So glad to hear you found our guided Mesa Verde NP tour to enable you to see more of the park, learn more about the park, enjoy a great lunch, and to top it off, to be entertaining and personalized. Jay is an amazing professional guide. We are so happy to have had him part of our team for almost a decade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

This was our first time rafting. We were a bit timid at first but Nikol immediately
put us at ease. He gave us great instructions and was very good!! We can’t wait to come back and try a harder level!!

Thank Tracie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

We can't wait for you to come back! Thanks so much for your review of Mild to Wild and of Nikol, your guide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

Highly recommend Mild to Wild. We did the economy 2 hour rafting with Nickol and he was amazing. We are already planning our 3 day rafting tour with him for next June. They have all kinds of excursions at Mild to Wild for all to enjoy!

Thank arizcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews