We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful part of our Colorado vacation”

Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.27*
and up
Half-Day Family Rafting in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the magic of river rafting, guided jeep tours and Mesa Verde tours with Mild to Wild Rafting & Jeep Trail Tours in Southwest Colorado. We offer 77 trip options for ages 4 to 84. Options include whitewater rafting adventures on rafts or inflatable kayaks, beginner stand-up paddle boarding instruction, jeep trail tours, Mesa Verde Tours and packages with a one-way ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Train. Explore. Escape. Experience. And Always, Live with Adventure! Contact us today to plan your adventure!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We did the combo Jeep "Ghost Town" tour and return to Durango on the train, and it was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Our guide was incredible - funny, knowledgable and great with my 8-year-old son, who is very interested in rocks and geology. The scenery was amazing - especially the views from Hurricane Pass. Dress warmly, but they do supply blankets and raincoats - we needed the coats for a quick sleet storm at 13,000 feet. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone visiting Durango or Silverton.

Thank blue_gal4011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thanks for your recommendation of our Trails n' Rails package (Jeep/Train).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lower animas"
in 202 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 225 reviews
"the river"
in 387 reviews
"san miguel"
in 27 reviews
"ghost town"
in 44 reviews
"wet suits"
in 26 reviews
"great guide"
in 58 reviews
"economy trip"
in 16 reviews
"la plata canyon"
in 22 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 48 reviews
"water level"
in 24 reviews
"half day trip"
in 42 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 54 reviews
"great trip"
in 60 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 22 reviews
"class rapids"
in 20 reviews
"off road"
in 18 reviews
Filter

1,121 - 1,125 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The reservation was pretty simple and we booked a day prior to our actual rafting. We were asked to come early in the morning at 8am and we had another family in our rafting tour. I opted to rent out wet booties but it does not help while going thru the rapids. Our guide Jesse was amazing and he made sure we enjoyed to the core. He was very knowledgeable about the place and surroundings. My 5yr old was not scared while going thru rapids. We were lucky that the previous week rains helped to raise the water level. They also engage you in a friendly squirt gun battle with an another team passing by. My daughter had a blast!!!

Thank Sahana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We love what we do and hope all take your advice to "Not miss it!" We are glad you found us a good value. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

very mild ride in august, but we were told that before booking. extremely safety oriented. guide was knowledgeable and friendly. beautiful scenic ride.

Thank don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family took the "Ghost Town" tour last week. We decided it was the best activity on our vacation. Sesh, our tour guide and driver, was great!! He was an excellent driver and we were never concerned about our safety even as scary as the roads were. Sesh stopped numerous times during the tour and gave us great information about the history, geology, plants, and environment. We were very impressed with his knowledge of the area. Definitely dress in layers, wear hats and sunscreen, bring water and snacks. You will reach approximately 13,000 feet and will be travelling in the open air. We did the morning tour and had two coats on in the morning and no coats needed in the afternoon. I would say the only complaint we had was necessary repairs to the seats. We noticed the back rest on the seat in front of us was held on by only one bolt and ours would move as well. Also some of the seatbelts were nearly impossible to release so we didn't put them back on after a few times of being unable to get out of them. Good thing Sesh was such a great driver!!

Thank Willerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Our goal is to be "The best part of everyone's trip"! Thanks for allowing us to do that! After your trip, the vehicle was pulled out of service for repairs. Thanks for choosing Mild to Wild.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family did the jeep tour with Doug as our guide. He was very knowledgeable of the area, vegetation, rock formations, etc. We had a great time and nearly made it up to 12,000 ft. up the mountain, but a thunderstorm came up and fear of lightening sent us back down. We had a great time getting to know Doug and the LA Plata area. :)

We had Jesse as our rafting guide and he was great. We were especially impressed that Jesse would pick up trash that he found in the river. All the rafting guides were cool and we had a great time.

Thank you Mild to Wild for helping to make our vacation something memorable. The ease of booking, the great assortment of necessities, the friendly staff, just everything went to making our outings great.

Taresa

Thank TaresaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing