We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we just had a ball!”

Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$113.42*
and up
Bus to Silverton and Train to Durango Full Day Experience
More Info
$148.72*
and up
Full-Day Mesa Verde Discovery Tour
More Info
$93.09*
and up
La Plata Canyon Jeep Tours from Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the magic of river rafting, guided jeep tours and Mesa Verde tours with Mild to Wild Rafting & Jeep Trail Tours in Southwest Colorado. We offer 77 trip options for ages 4 to 84. Options include whitewater rafting adventures on rafts or inflatable kayaks, beginner stand-up paddle boarding instruction, jeep trail tours, Mesa Verde Tours and packages with a one-way ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Train. Explore. Escape. Experience. And Always, Live with Adventure! Contact us today to plan your adventure!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we did this Jeep trail as part of the ride on the Silverton Durango narrow gauge railroad; road up to silverton and got in a giant jeep with tour guide/driver Frank Miller. He was hilarious and so knowledgeable; took us to Off the Beaten Track to neat places and breath-taking views; we had a great half day adventure and would reccommend this trip and especially the driver!

Thank Linda_S_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thanks for your review of our Mini-Ghost Town Tour and our driver Frank. We are fortunate to have him part of our team! Thank you for choosing Mild to Wild!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,273 - 1,277 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We took a 'ride' to the top of a mountain. The guide was very accomodating and stopped for us often to take pictures. He was friendly and informative. I don't know how he did it, but we had another appointment that day and he timed it so we were back right to the minute. Of course, lots of pictures and great scenery. Also got to see some deer and marmots. Had a great time took 500 pictures and that was just my camera.

Thank Harold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

500 photos! Wow...that is awesome. We would love to see some of them if you are willing to post on our facebook page or send to us. Thanks for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I opted for the Trails and Rails tour to get a chance to visit the higher altitudes by jeep in the "Trails" part, and also experience a ride on the Durango & Silverton Railroad in the "Rails" part. The Trails part was the best. We left Durango for a 1.5 hour or so scenic ride to Silverton, where we transferred to open-top jeeps and headed on a most interesting ride along unpaved roads to reach altitudes as high as 12000 ft. We stopped briefly at the abandoned mining town of Animas Forks (and passed a few others). The scenery is beautiful and varied. As a result of the mineral deposits, the mountains exhibit many different hues and colors. Overall, a wonderful opportunity for photography, and a tour that involves more "Trails" time would be extremely enjoyable in my opinion.

The return segment is by train. While enjoyable, this was a tad long (4.5 hours or so) and the scenery eventually starts feeling repetitive.

Thank ek_yayavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Hi there! We are so glad to hear you loved the Jeep Trail Tour portion of the Trail & Rails package and desire more. Great news: we offer a full day Jeep Trail Tour called our Ghost Town Tour. See you this summer for more exploration of the San Juan Mountains! Thanks for your review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Mild to Wild took excellent care of us on our 3-day float down the Colorado River near Moab. Drew and James cooked every meal to perfection and were very knowledgable and very eager to answer any and all questions we had.

Our camping spot was beautiful and inaccessible by road, with plenty of rugged scenery to hike around and explore. There wasn't a single hitch even with multiple vehicles and they accommodated our need to leave a bit early with ease and grace.

One of the most relaxing and fun 3-day spans ever!

Thank tresspicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thanks so much for your feedback on our Colorado 3 day river trip - the food, camping, hiking & guides. We sure appreciate your endorsement! See you on another river trip soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We took the morning jeep tour with our two teenagers on Aug 10th and had a terrific time. There was enough of everything to keep everyone entertained for the entire trip. Our guide Shane, did a great job of explaining the history of the area, and gave us ample opportunities to stop and take photographs. We made it to Cinnamon Pass, and the trip up was somewhat hair raising, but Shane did a great job driving and everyone was able to enjoy the spectacular views. It did start raining on the way back, but we got the top on the jeep, and were quite comfortable. I would absolutely to this trip again, and would make sure that we got to ride with Shane, although all of the guides were very professional and made the day a huge success.

Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mild2wild, Owner at Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thanks Terry for your feedback on your jeep trail tour with Shane above Silverton, Colorado. We are glad both you and your teenagers enjoyed the tour! Thanks so much for sharing your experience with others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mild to Wild Rafting and Jeep Trail Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing