We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fast becoming our favorite in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eolus Bar & Dining

Eolus Bar & Dining
Reserve with OpenTable
Eolus Bar & Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 184 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free Options, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 9th street and Main Avenue
Transit: Durango Trolley stops in front of the Cosmopolitan on Historic Main Street.
Description: From farm to table and vine to wine Eolus Bar & Dining offers something for everyone. The local bounty shines through as the restaurant features an array of local products from farms, ranches, vinters, and breweries around southwest Colorado. Offering distinct places to enjoy the cuisine the rooftop patio is covered providing ample protection from the elements while providing premium views of the surrounding mountains. The elegant dining room provides choices of tables or booths to relax and sample creative concoctions from the bar. Eolus is great place to celebrate special occasions so be sure to let us know how we can elevate your dining experience. We are open 7 nights a week starting at 4:30.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fast becoming our favorite in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We like the service and the wine list. Haven't tried everything on the menu, yet. The beef items pair well with many of the reasonable wines offered.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank diannecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    46
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So very great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Ventured into Eolus this evening and was very pleasantly surprised with just about everything. I was meeting a date there and had a few minutes to spare and was approached by every, single staff member in the joint making sure I was being taken care of. I fail to believe that I was sitting there looking that needy, so I chalk it up to their attentiveness. Nice job. Very extensive wine list and the two of sampled 4 red glasses. The sushi app was delightful and we shared the lobster burger....seriously. It's locally owned beef company, and it was topped with lobster and it was decadent and needs to be experienced by all. Gary was our waiter and he was perfect. The place is pricey, but I think it's worth it. Put it on your Durango "to-do" list.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kanddDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“AWESOME PLACE TO EAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have a group of college friends that meets in Durango every March to ski and have fun. We always end the trip at what was formally known as Cosmo's. Since we are from Texas and New Mexico, we did not know the story of the management split and name change. I am pleased to say that the experience met and exceeded our expectations! The atmosphere was elegant yet inviting. The service was exceptional (more on that later) and the food was nicely presented and tasted great. What a great evening.
Our server, Taylor, did an outstanding job explaining the menu and skillfully shepherding slightly obnoxious 5 men through the evening. She was a wealth of information about the town, restaurant and the menu.
We will be back next year. Don't know who will be the lucky waitperson that gets us but we promise to behave or at least make it worth your effort!!
FIVE STARS!!!!
Rusty Ryan

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rusty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lobster Hamburger? - It was AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our group of six decided to have dinner at Eolus our first night in Durango based on the recommendation of a friend. So glad we did! Everything from the food, to the ambiance to the service was exceptional. I'm still telling people about my delicious Lobster Hamburger with some of the best sweet potato fries I've ever had. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Durango.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durango, CO, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Opening night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

When I first tried to review Eolus it hadn't been listed yet and I requested its presence on trip advisor. There was a group of 12 of us that had a reservation a at Cosmos and we were told the day before that they were closed for repairs. We rescheduled for the following night and thought we were lost as the name out front had changed. Turns out it was opening night for Eolus and the place was packed. The food and service was great and not sure how they got the quick changeover managed so well. We will return for a special occasion on Thursday night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eolus Bar & Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing