We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town and lots of grass and shade--a good option in Durango”
Review of United Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
United Campground
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I've been traveling the Southwest for almost a month now in an RV and have seen the gamut of RV parks. United is a four-mile trip from town, but is the closest one I found, and is right on a free trolley line, which is a plus. The internet is strong and reliable, the sites are level and shady, and the Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad goes right by the campground twice a day, which is a nice touch of local color. The showers could use some attention. They were clean, but a bit shabby. For the price (about $36, no discounts offered for AAA or Good Sam), I expected a little more in the showers. That said, overall, it's in the top 5 of campgrounds so far.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stlawraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 96 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

Good sites--our was level and had some tree shade--lovely view of valley and some bucolic cows in the distance. Quiet time of year which does help.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marguerite H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Pros. Good check in, nice level site, lovely view, laundry tidy and well priced. On the trolly line, and the narrow gauge train line. Great watching the steam trains passing.

Cons. Only offered 10% discount on a weeks stay, no other discounts, good Sam etc. Bit expensive but maybe that is Colorado. Could not get a seal on the sewer outlet, connection too deep into the ground.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

VERY NICE! The gentleman was always polite on phone & in person. Sites are nice. My only thing I would change is where you have to hook up your water etc., there's rocks & cypress trees not leaving much room in between you & rig. Too bad hook ups are not towards the rear of space. Rocks made it a little difficult for me since I was recovering from foot surgery. And my mom would of liked cable.Overall very nice!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sauza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed in the tent area which was quite spacious and well shaded. The restrooms and showers were clean albeit small. The campground areas seemed a bit cramped, but it had a nice pool and was right on the trolley line which is free and makes it really easy to get to and from town. The rail line for the Durango & Silverton goes right through camp and is really neat to see and ride.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgolfguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have stayed at United Campground several times and had a great time, but this time was not a good experience. Trailer spots very small, picnic table was behind our camper so our view was our camper, we could have moved it, but it would have been in the road. Unfriendly staff, only one shower working, toilet backed up, bathroom in general was very gross.(Gross was the word from all the ladies in the bathroom) Check out at 11:00, come on your camping not staying at a five star hotel that needs cleaning. It used to be a great place to stay, something has changed and we will never go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KatieCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We liked this place because the place was well cared for and very clean. The store was well stocked and very pet friendly. The only thing was that the spaces felt a little crowded. The Durango/Silverton train runs right through the campground and it's a great photo op. The people here are also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank repsol_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
1.5 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
501 reviews
3.8 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,100 reviews
21.6 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Campground

Address: 1322 Animas View Dr, Durango, CO 81301-8931
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railway passes right through this campground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
United Campground Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing