We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animas Mountain Trail

Ranked #27 of 65 things to do in Durango
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the San Juan National Forest, this eight-mile trail leads to the top of a mesa where you can get a fabulous view of the area. Separate trails for hikers/horseback riders and mountain bikers are marked with different colors.
United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great trail. Just keep bearing to the "right" at every possible location to complete the whole thing. Nice parking lot at the main trailhead.

You can just go about 30 or 40 minutes oneway and get great views of the town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank trekkerman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
180 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“If you like a killer climb...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

...then this trail is for you. The climb is long and pretty rocky but worth it once you make it to the top.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trailblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery and not crowded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Hikes for all levels, plenty of wildlife and beautiful scenery. Walked with our dog early morning and met several like minded dog walkers and hikers. Good views of Durango.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a blast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place a little hard to find, but it was worth the trip. We had to call several time's to finally meet up with the guide but once we did we had a great time. We rode two hour's deep in the wood's and saw some beautiful lake's. Met some nice folk's from another state and alot of fun. The only complaint we had is they need to a little more organized as they were hard to meet up with.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mm003007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good local place to get some exercise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Trailhead in town. Easy to park. Goes in at 6800' and summits at 8200'. BLM. Trail could be messy if wet. Forested with occasional views of the city. Early Summer mornings would be good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaguaroJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Animas Mountain Trail also viewed

 

Been to Animas Mountain Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing