We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diminished Opinion”

Historic Downtown Durango
Ranked #3 of 64 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Many of the original buildings constructed and used by the area's pioneers can be found in this interesting and charming section of town that includes the grand Strater Hotel, built in 1887 and still in operation today, plus the world famous Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. You'll find unique shops, amazing restaurants for all budgets, and plenty of events year round in Historic Downtown Durango.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
447 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Diminished Opinion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

When we first moved from Oregon to New Mexico nine years ago, we took a long weekend visit to Durango and liked the town. We just drove about 1500 miles through the mountain towns of Colorado and Durango was our final overnight. We observed a real expansion of the area and many of the negatives that can go with such. Way too much traffic - tacky gift shops - high end shops with far too high prices. When walking around downtown, the western flavor still exists but entering certain businesses ruins our perceptions of the town.

On the flip side, we were reminded that it was still a mountain town when we spotted two male deer walking on the sidewalk one block up from the intersection of College & Main in the heart of downtown.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    835
    437
    90
    6
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Mo
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great town for walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I felt so comfortable walking and window shopping here. There is a visitor center downtown and the ladies very helpful. Many restaurants and cafes here. Parking meters but we were told we did not need to pay after 7PM. You will see several dogs being walked.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great architecture...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Palmer House and Strater Hotel are two marvelous old (1880s) hotels still serving the public with rooms for rent. They stand at either end of an 8 block stretch of historic buildings. Town has grown but has kept its history.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OldTraveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHEATON
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charming and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Love Durango! The cute shops, wide choice of restaurants and coffee shops, and the narrow gauge railroad train all surrounded by hills give this town lots of appeal. People were friendly and there were water bowls on the street for dog guests, too. The town felt safe to wander around at night. Surprisingly safe enough for a buck, doe, and fawn to nibble grass just off Main St.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ballengerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A tourist town with a past.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great town that was greater before the Californian's moved in. Sorry, just true. It is still a fun place to visit in a region full of wonderful natural treasures. The Californians did open up a lot of great stores and restaurants... they just took away the frontier charm that was so much the personality of the place in the 70s. The Animas river and the San Juan mountains are awesome... go hiking, rafting, snowshoeing, hunting, birdwatching...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank paca1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Downtown Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing