We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've seen better historic downtowns”

Historic Downtown Durango
Ranked #3 of 67 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Historic Downtown Durango is the heart of the community. Filled with over 200 unique shops, stores and restaurants, Downtown Durango has something for everyone. The Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is located in Downtown, and has daily excursions plus a FREE museum. The Strater Hotel is also in Downtown and has been in operation since the 1800's. We have wonderful restaurants, from fast food to fine dining and everything in between. Plus there are amazing shops with unique items, including nearly a dozen world class art galleries. To learn more about Historic Downtown Durango, visit our website, and use the FREE wifi Downtown at Durango WiFi. Thanks for visiting!
Durango
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I've seen better historic downtowns”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've seen better historic downtowns - there was not a lot of variety in the shops, and it was mostly restaurants.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    463
    102
    6
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“fun town!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lots of lovely people and restaurants! Art shops and trains and young people. A great experience! Lovely walks too along the river. Plus white water rafting!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bootsy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Western Charm”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Historic Downtown Durango is like taking a step back to the old west. There are a variety of shops and restaurants along Main Avenue and surrounding streets that are unique and fun to visit. The area is pedestrian friendly and the overall environment of the town is fantastic. It was busy while we were there but it never felt crowded.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimMaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, IL
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Great walking tour to see the historic buildings”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Start with the railway museum and work your way thru town looking a the old hotels and the brick buildings. There are many fine places to eat but a walk around tour will help you understand the town. Many points of interest are identified with sidewalk plaques identifying the significance of the buildings.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMDEN
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The western town that time (almost) forgot”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

One of life's frustrations for a traveller is when you arrive somewhere for a brief overnight stopover, only to discover you'd rather like to stay there longer...because you've discovered a gem!

Such was my experience of arriving in Durango in SW Colorado last October 2012. I was en route from Monument Valley UT to Colorado Springs. I booked a hotel for the night, but when I arrived, I discovered the most wonderful small town with a real western feel to it. It's full of interesting shops and restaurants and boasts a fully working heritage steam railway that takes visitors up into the mountains. There is also the opportunity to do plenty of outdoor activities in the stunning mountains that surround the town.

There are restaurants a plenty and even a hotel with a theatre that puts on period vaudeville shows daily.

After arriving at 4pm Sunday and leaving at 6am Monday, I have determined Durango is palace I will be returning to at some point in time!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Downtown Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing