We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss the historic downtown Durango.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Downtown Durango

Historic Downtown Durango
Ranked #3 of 64 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Many of the original buildings constructed and used by the area's pioneers can be found in this interesting and charming section of town that includes the grand Strater Hotel, built in 1887 and still in operation today, plus the world famous Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. You'll find unique shops, amazing restaurants for all budgets, and plenty of events year round in Historic Downtown Durango.
TEXAS
Level Contributor
217 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Don't miss the historic downtown Durango.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very well restored, great shops and restaurant. All merchants are very friendly. They will not try to hard sell you.

BUD CARTER

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BUDCARTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    434
    89
    6
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to spend a couple of days!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited Durango in mid-August and had a wonderful, relaxing vacation. The downtown shops are charming, but many are closed during the evening. We, of course, rode the train. I'd recommend doing the train just one way as both the up and back to Silverton was a bit much. Highly recommend the doggy day care provided by Healthy Hounds and Fat Cats! They were very affordable and assured us "cuddle time" was a regular amenity. My dog spent two days there and came back happy and tired. I also recommend the Residence Inn. Great breakfast, affordable and great staff!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank onlyinomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Picture postcard Durango”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent three nights in Durango and the place grew on us. Quaint shops, incredible choice of restaurants and free shuttle service all day which meant we could leave our car at the Motel.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc
Level Contributor
250 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Needs some money to improve the city!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We found a lot of the shops to be closed. But still a fun little town. Found some restaurants that we liked and a couple of old cool hotels that are still up and running.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Updated Olden Days Have Mucho Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The entire ambiente of HDD is fun, entertaining and even affordable! The whole downtown is a clean, well-organized destination offering ample opportunities to purchase food, drinks, furniture, clothing, and keepsakes in creatively named stores staffed by super friendly people.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BHorton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Downtown Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing