We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place to hang out!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Downtown Durango

Historic Downtown Durango
Ranked #3 of 64 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Many of the original buildings constructed and used by the area's pioneers can be found in this interesting and charming section of town that includes the grand Strater Hotel, built in 1887 and still in operation today, plus the world famous Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. You'll find unique shops, amazing restaurants for all budgets, and plenty of events year round in Historic Downtown Durango.
Denver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun place to hang out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lots of shops, good restaurants, the train! Time well spent! Something for everyone! Lodging nearby!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CoastMtnFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    434
    89
    6
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Step back to the old days...of saloon girls and gunfights!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our first stop was to the Silverton Durango Railroad station to get our tickets for the train ride. Saw the awesome sculpture in the yard. Just knew this place was going to be fun! Stopped in just about all the shops. What a variety of silver jewelry, sporting goods, and just about anything else you could ask for. Had dinner and lunch in "town" enjoyed the saloon girls...Hmmmm...and the gunfight. The historic buildings were a glimpse of the past. All in all a fun place to visit. The train ride was wonderful!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice walking, good shops in lovely Durango”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I love Durango. Small mountain town with alot going for it.
Summer & winter recreations, music, fun shopping, some really good restaurants and scenery galore w/ high, blue skys. I go
to Durango at least once a year and always enjoy myself.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So pretty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Love looking at historic buildings and downtown Durango does not disappoint. Very close to Hampton Inn, just a short drive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lynn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing if you are looking for a western town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Guess I should have read more carefully, and I hope others will! This town actually has a gorgeous 1887 hotel, and a few of the buildings look authentic, but it is a tourist tee shirt haven for the most part, apparently answering to the needs of the outdoor enthusiasts who visit this naturally beautiful area to partake of outdoor sports. Except for the historic narrow gauge Durango Silverton Railroad and its very good museum, the town rather ignores its historic significance as a silver mining town. If you take the train ride (which takes all day) you apparently go by some of the mines. I must admit we missed the Animas Museum, which may have given more credit to the town's heritage. Some good restaurants, and lovely weather to enjoy the town, but not what we expected.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Downtown Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing