We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gable House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$176
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strater Hotel(Durango)
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$230
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
$163
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$161
$136
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
128
10
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
10
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet neighborhoodtrain stationprivate balconythird floornational register of historic placeshistoric victoriannormal breakfastfloor faneach morningother guestsb bswell appointed and comfortableperiod furnitureshort walktwo nightsthe durango silverton train ridebreakfast burrito
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 142 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

When we arrived at the Gable House, Heather welcomed us warmly and led us to our room on the third floor. The room was immaculate and nicely decorated. Since the weather was a bit cool, she made sure we had an extra comforter for the bed (which we did not actually need). The neighborhood was quiet and a few minutes walk from the main street with many restaurants and shops. Heather suggested a place for dinner which we very much enjoyed. She also alerted us to a bargain shopping opportunity at a store that was having a going out of business sale.
When we arrived, Heather told us that she was awaiting word about the imminent birth of her first grandchild in Cheyenne, WY. While the birth did not occur while we were her guests, it is worth noting that her excitement about her first grandchild in no way interfered with her attentiveness to us.
She prepared a wonderful breakfast and visited with us while we ate.
We will definitely stay at the Gable House if we visit Durango again.

Room Tip: It seems to me that all the rooms are equally good.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I recently spent several nights at Gable House and it was a wonderful experience. Heather and Michael went out of their way with their warmth, friendliness and hospitality to make my stay there very memorable. I was travelling on my own and felt that it was like a home away from home. My room was immaculate and breakfasts were gourmet quality. The location was great for ease of walking to Main Street. I have stayed at many B&B's abroad and this was one of the best ones. Heather was very attentive to my needs and her interest in my care and comfort was so heart warming. After I finished walking the Colorado Trail for one week, camping out and climbing up and down from 9,500' to 12,500 ft. everyday, it was wonderful to come back to Gable House and feel like I was coming home, dirty and tired as I was. Thank you so much Heather and Michael. I hope to see you again in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nada J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed two nights in this lovely historic mansion and loved every minute! Heather is a gracious hostess who shares her home and knowledge of the Durango area with you. She is a wonderful cook who prepared delicious breakfasts for us to fit our schedule. We had a lovely room with its own porch where we could relax at any hour of the day or night. We love the Durango area with its fabulous history, scenery, art, and dining. Staying at the Gable House made us love Durango even more. We can't wait to go back! Kathy & Ron from Parkville, MO

Room Tip: We had a big room on the 2nd floor with a private bath and its own little porch. Perfect for us! It had an adjoining room which we did not need, but it would be great for families to to rent.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kab1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast, and if they are all like The Gable House we'll look for them before ever looking for a motel room again!! Heather was a delightful hostess.The historic house was wonderful to wander around and see the craftsmanship. The rooms were spacious, clean, and well organized. There was ample balconies for just sitting, and the décor was nice. The rooms were of adequate size and were comfortable as were the beds. The bath's were very clean and nice. The breakfasts were very enjoyable with a generous serving. The proximity to town was just another plus as the walking distance and not having to fight parking downtown was a benefit to staying in this very enjoyable B&B. Thank you so much. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKNBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Gable House and enjoyed every minute. Heather is a warm and welcoming hostess to her historic home-and we WERE at home all week!!! Beautiful home, clean,quiet,relaxing and loved the porches. We had a sunny room with a full bath just outside the bedroom that was perfect in all ways. The porch outside our room with the American Flag waving was delightful to spend time with our coffee,tea or a book. The garden is lovely with lots of places to sit and hear the birds and the fountain. Breakfasts were yummy, great recipes, and lots of it. Wonderful farm fresh eggs. A lovely tree lined quick walk to the town with friendly people along the way. We will be back. I miss you Heather, John and Annette

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aviano2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews