We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gable House Is A Must Place To Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gable House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I have stayed at the Gable House two ywars running. The accomodations are fantastic and the B&B is pure relaxation. Close to downtown and a great place to launce from on day trips. Heather and Mike are wonderful hosts, and they can plan your day or just sit and chat with you about Durango and the history of the B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Gable House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

This meticulously restored and lovingly cared-for late-19th-century Victorian home is welcoming, spacious and very comfortable -- just the right place to spend an extended weekend, as my wife and I did. Breakfasts are sumptuous and unhurried and hostess Heather sets a delightful table. We plan to return. Make sure to ask Heather the back-stories to the huge Sousaphone lounging proudly in the front room and the flattened tuba hanging on the livingroom wall.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owlflight22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The Gable House was our home away from home for a week in July. Our first day we drove to Mesa Verde National Park (about an hour away). Heather suggested taking her cooler, so that we could have a nice picnic. The next morning we checked out of the Gable House, storing our luggage at the B&B, and walked to the train station with our backpacks. The train dropped us off in Elk Park, and we spent the next 4 days hiking in the Weminuche Wilderness. We did a 40 mile half circle, hooking back up with the train in Needleton. Along the way, we did a 10 mile climb up 14,000 ft Mt Eolus in the beautiful Chicago Basin. When we got back to Durango, we walked from the train station back to the Gable House where Heather had our room waiting. For the next couple of days, we attended a conference at nearby Ft. Lewis College, a 20 minute walk from the B&B via a nature trail (with a 500 ft elevation gain!). We needed a car for only the first day, as everything is within easy walking distance. Great restaurants. We especially enjoyed the Cyprus Cafe and the Himalayan Kitchen. Great trail running right in town, just blocks from the B&B. Our room was spacious and had a private balcony. Breakfasts were delicious! Heather even accomodated some of our early start days with yogurt, blueberries, and freshly scrambled eggs. Coffee was ready early every morning! Heather's husband worked for many years in the Weminuche Wilderness, and he gave us great tips for another trip. We can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Gable House is the best place we have found to stay in Durango when you we want to walk to Main Street's action but sleep in a place so quiet we can hear Great Horned Owls calling in the night.

It is an impeccably maintained Victorian without even a hint of the claustrophobic clutter than leaves me sleepless. This grand lady has been lovingly restored to her historic elegance, while letting her best architectural features shine.

Don't rush off without breakfast, whatever your do!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiaZio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We planned a trip to Durango and were going to stay at a motel, but we really didn't want the drab experience , so we called Heather at the Gable House and asked if she had room for our family. Heather accommodated us with a room that allowed our son his own twin bed and us a double, while my daughter and mother in law stayed in an adjoining room. We shared a lovely bathroom with a clawfoot bathtub/shower. We stayed a week and never wanted to leave! Heather was a fantastic hostess and served us a fabulous homemade breakfast each morning, including egg casseroles, quiche, pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, home made muffins...we looked forward to breakfast every morning! The house itself is glorious, and we just loved hearing about its history. It has a fantastic porch facing east, morning sun, so comfortable, so like home!!! My son and I played ball in the front yard, my daughter and I went running every morning down at the river. We walked to dinner in the evening. It was the best!! Thanks Heather, will be back.

Room Tip: Just ask Heather
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Gable House for four nights in July while visiting family in Durango. The beautiful Victorian house is set in one of Durango's charming neighborhoods, close enough to Main Street to walk to shops and restaurants yet far enough away from all the activity to afford one a thoroughly relaxing and quiet stay. The location couldn't be better. The home itself is beautiful yet very comfortable, not pretentious. It is also absolutely immaculate! A review of the Gable House is not complete without praise for its gracious, warm and welcoming owner, Heather, who prepares a scrumptious hot breakfast for all each morning. I would not hesitate to recommend this B & B to anyone. The price might seem steep but it is very much in line with comparable establishments in Durango in the summertime.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We've stayed in this B&B several times over the past few years finding a wonderful experience each time.

Unlike many places to stay in Durango, Gable House is located a few blocks away from the main drag in a quiet old heavily treed residential neighborhood. The benefit of this is that the area is nicely quiet and peaceful which is the polar opposite of what most of Durango, a college and tourist town, is. The main drag is roughly a 7 minute walk so being slightly remote is only a trivial down side compared to the huge upside of not being bothered by the heavy traffic and raucous people downtown.

The physical plant is a wonderful old Victorian which may be the largest residence in Durango. The owner keeps it scrupulously clean and neat including some very pleasant gardens making for some nice outdoor seating. Most if not all the rooms have private porches looking over the neighborhood streets.

Others have described the other features so I'll just mention that what makes this place special is the warm and comfortable feeling broadcast by Heather, the owner / hostess. Her breakfasts are plain terrific. The only problem I've had after several visits is not over eating because it's so tempting to do so. Heather clearly enjoys welcoming guests. She has great knowledge of the area and can suggest places to see or go as well as restaurants worth a visit.

In addition, in each of our visits we've met interesting guests from all over. We've stayed in many B&B's from all over, but none are superior to Gable House. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dryadsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.4 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#11 of 33 in Durango
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,073 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
2.3 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 805 E 5th Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range: $140 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing